Reese’s Pieces + Cake Mix = Delicious

26 Jul

The Great Mama Experiment posted today about the elusive and mythical Perfect Mom. While her description is spot-on, I have to add one element. The perfect mom is also the one that always has wonderful, delicious and perfectly decorated baked goods that never spill or tip over on the way to her destination–and she makes them herself! From scratch!

I don’t know who these women are or where they find the time to do such things. When I bake, I often find myself starting a 9:30 at night and it certainly is not from scratch. I typically start with whatever cake mix happens to be in the house and end with ordering my husband to the supermarket to pick up the ingredients for my icing (I do make icing from scratch. It’s so easy and tastes so much better.) However, there are occasions when I feel like doing a little baking and, if I do say so myself, showing off. 

Enter, side left: Reese’s Pieces Squares. These are perhaps the most simple and tasty dessert I have found. These are also the most requested and popular dessert I make. I brought them into work one day and by 10:30 am, all 2 dozen squares were gone. They are that delicious. Co-workers were hoarding them like prisoners hoard cigarettes. Of course, they’re not that great to bring to peanut free places like schools or daycares but if there is that one mean kid who’s allergic…well, I’m just saying’…

I found this recipe in a book store in Palm Springs and I had to have it. The book, 101 Things To Do With a Cake Mix, is so awesome. I’ve made so many delicious recipes from this book (my personal fave is the cookies and creme cake) but the Reese’s Pieces Bars are far and away one of the easiest:

Reese’s Pieces Bars (From 101 Things To Do With a Cake Mix by Stephanie Ashcraft)

Ingredients:

  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ cups Reese’s Pieces

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. While oven is preheating, mix first 3 ingredients in a large bowl until cake mix is dissolved.
  3. Add the Reese’s Pieces
  4. Spread in greased 9 x13 pan
  5. Bake for 13-17 minutes (I usually cook them for 15 minutes. It’s enough time for them to be golden brown but just slightly underdone in the middle. This helps them stay moist a little longer)
6 Responses to “Reese’s Pieces + Cake Mix = Delicious”

  1. The Great Mama Experiment July 27, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    Recipe sounds awesome. Think I’ll try it out soon! I’ve got to make a dessert to send to my daughter’s summer care program. Thanks!

  2. stephb July 28, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    YUM!!!!!

  3. Average Girl July 28, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    Glad I saw this right before I’m about to leave for the grocery store…

  4. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary August 2, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    Oh my gosh, these sound delicious! I am definitely going to try this. And, please please please — do share your icing recipe!

    Barb @ 1SentenceDiary:
    http://1SentenceDiary.wordpress.com/category/tasty-tuesday/

  5. B August 19, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    Im making this for my boyfriend for his birthday. He LOVES reese’s pieces. Should be a hit!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

