A story from the family kitchen

8 Jan

Last night after dinner, I was craving a cookie. I mean, really craving a cookie. Unfortunately for me and my craving, there was not a cookie to be found anywhere in our house. My husband offered to go buy cookies or the ingredients to make chocolate chip cookies (we were lacking the chocolate chips) but I refused to let him spend money on food that was outside of the once a week grocery trip. I had to make due with what was on hand (and since I always have flour, sugar, butter, eggs, and baking soda in my pantry/fridge, it wasn’t hard to make due).

So, I went to my favorite go-to site for recipes: www.allrecipes.com I cannot say enough good things about this website. I just adore it. Anyway, I typed in peanut butter and oatmeal (2 ingredients we did have on hand) and to my utter glee, several recipes came up.

I started perusing through the recipes and was disappointed that for each one, we were lacking one key ingredient (the one that I was most disappointed about: the peanut butter oatmeal sandwich cookies). I eventually (please note that “eventually” in this case is approximately 2-3 minutes after I started looking) did find one that looked good and we had all of the ingredients. My whole family was called into the kitchen and we set about on our cookie making adventure.

With my daughter by my side and my husband in front of the computer to read the directions, we were able to bake the cookies from start to finish in about 1/2 hour.  They came out quite good, too. And now I have cookies for the next few days, I didn’t have to spend any money and my family got to spend some quality time together. It was a great way to spend an evening (and a nice reprieve from Hi Ho Cherry-O).

The best part of our family cooking is not just the fun, quality family time or the free cookies. It’s knowing that my daughter is learning  many skills and that she’s learning to appreciate home cooking. And she absolutely loves to help me bake. She makes sure she has her little step stool and a spoon so she can help mix the ingredients. She will help me bring all of the ingredients to the counter and will help me measure and pour all of the ingredients into the mixing bowl. And then, like any good baker-in-training, she licks the bowl and spoon. That, of course, is the most important step.

Last night’s adventure teaches an important lesson: money does not always have to be spent or a trip to the grocery store is not always necessary when a craving takes over. A few minutes spent looking at what’s in the house and a few minutes looking through recipes can save  a few dollars, satisfy a craving and keep you out of the cold!

Leave a Reply

