Kitchen Table Talk: My cooking soundtrack

2 Feb

I love music. I usually have it playing in the background of whatever I’m doing (unless I’m watching TV). Cooking is no exception to that.

Music helps me keep focused on the flow of cooking. It lightens the mood and makes the mundane tasks of chopping, sauteéing or mixing seem a lot less tedious. Good songs help pass the time while doing dishes and cleaning up. And I’ve learned that spatulas make really good microphones and that my kitchen makes an excellent dance floor (I’m one cake away from qualifying for So You Think You Can Dance ).

 I usually put my iTunes library on random and just listen to whatever comes up. Sometimes I’ll put in a CD or just listen to the radio. But here’s a list of some of my favorite songs to listen to while I cook:

  1. It’s My Life/Confessions, Pt 2 mash-up–The Cast of “Glee“. This song makes me want to get up and dance. It also makes me want to stop what I’m doing and watch “Glee”.
  2. Fallen Angel–Poison. Hairband music at it’s best
  3. Ain’t Comin’ Home–Silvertide. Just a great, fun song. It’s great for driving, too.
  4.  Burn It to the Ground–Nickelback. Normally I don’t like Nickelback but this is a rockin’ song.
  5. Shelter Me–Cinderella. Another example of hairband music at it’s finest.
  6. Hate My Life–Theory of a Deadman. Never has a song about all the crappy parts of life been so entertaining.
  7. U and Ur Hand–P!nk. It’s by P!nk. ‘Nuff said.
  8. Black Widow–Jealousy Curve. Not a top 100 hit but it’s an incredible song. I highly recommend checking it out.
  9. Audience of One–Rise Against. This is an anthemic song that deserves to be put on repeat.
  10.   Jesus of Suburbia–Green Day. One of the most amazing songs written in the last 10 years. Seriously.
  11.   Banditos–Refreshments. I have no clever comments for this song but it’s one of my all-time favorites.
  12.   Wild Wild Life–Talking Heads. See comment 11.
  13.   Subdivisions–Rush. A song about the angst of living in suburbia. By Rush. Amazing.

The rest of the list gets rounded out with a smattering of songs from the Beastie Boys, Shinedown, Beth Hart, Train, Rush, Jimmy Eat World, Better Than Ezra and a plethora of hairbands and random singles.

It’s an eclectic mix, I know. But each one of those songs helps keep my momentum going and makes cooking all that more enjoyable. Plus, it’s good practice for my next career as a rock star.

Leave a Reply

