Guest post: Super simple dinner

31 Mar

A big part of my recipe collections comes from recipes I’ve stolen borrowed from others. But I didn’t have to steal this one; it was given to me by my friend, Kelly, who blogs at My Friend Kelly.

Super Simple Dinner

Whenever I need to use up some veggies or get stuck on dinner planning I turn to this uber simple recipe which has been known to make grown men and children eat vegetables *gasp*!

Start with cleaning out the vegetable drawer. You can use celery, carrots, zucchini, squash, broccoli, peppers, onions, and just about anything else that’s easily steamed or sauteéd.

This time I started with zucchini after cutting off the ends the rest was sliced thin.

Then chop up peppers and onions, size can vary but I like them small.

Toss it all into a bowl and start a pan of boiling water

Pull out a pan and coat with olive oil or a bit of butter.  Once it’s heated up add the vegetables.

Continue to stir the vegetables over medium to high heat until they’re cooked throughout. Add a touch of seasonings, pretty much anything in the cabinet you like. I prefer garlic salt, Mrs. Dash, pepper and lemon juice.

In the meantime, pick out a pasta.  I like this organic brand from Costco, six packages like this for $7.99 so each is only about $1.35 and gives about six servings.

While the pasta is boiling, add a half cup of water to the vegetables and cover immediately. This will soften up the last of the vegetables and give you some juice to mix with the pasta.

Drain the pasta and set aside

Then mix it all together in a bowl.  You can top with chicken if you like but it’s also gret as a vegetarian dish.

5 Responses to “Guest post: Super simple dinner”

  1. 3catslady April 1, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    Jana, I love the recipe. It is so simple. If I only had a kitchen to try it. Thanks for publishing it.

    Pat

    • janalynch April 1, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

      kelly did a good job coming up with this one! i wish i could take the credit!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Simple Dinner « My Friend Kelly - March 31, 2010

    […] at 4am, all is well!  Since I’m not quite into the blogging swing yet, you can check out my guest post over at The Empty […]

  2. A good recipe is hard to find « The Empty Kitchen - April 9, 2010

    […] with eggs and beans is fine. For a great idea of a recipe that my family would try, take a look at this one from my friend, […]

  3. Blogs I Like « My Friend Kelly - May 17, 2010

    […] You’ll love her practicality, recipes and lessons from kitchen mishaps.  I did a guest post here and you’ll love her discussions on school lunch, the most disgusting food known to her husband […]

Leave a Reply

