Reader recipe: Grilled Veg-Kabobs

18 Apr

The next recipe I decide to try was grilled veg-kabobs submitted by reader Kelly.

Ingredients:

  • Assortment of vegetables: zucchini, squash, peppers, tomatoes, mushrooms, onions
  • Olive oil
  • Seasoning such as: salt, pepper, Old Bay, Italian seasoning, etc (anything you like)
  • Kabobs skewers, soaked in water (10-15 minutes)

Directions: 

  1. Soak the skewers in water
  2. Chop the vegetables into large chunks
  3. Spear the vegetables with the skewers
  4. Drizzle with olive oil
  5. Grill for about 10-15 minutes

The verdict

I do not have a kitchen right now. Well, I have half a kitchen. Unfortunately, the half I don’t have is the part of my kitchen that leads to my deck. The deck, which houses my grill, is currently blocked by all my living room furniture (I ♥ DIY home renovations). However, I wanted to try Kelly’s twist on veg-kabobs bad enough that I decided to use the broil setting on my oven.  

I followed her recipe–almost. I didn’t use zucchini or squash, but I did use tomatoes, onions, mushrooms and 3 different kinds of peppers (the yellow and green pepper were supposed to make up for the yellw and green in the squash/zucchini). Instead olive oil I used Italian dressing and as stated, I had to use my oven rather than my grill. I also made some with chicken for my husband and my daughter and served it over a bed of brown rice.

OMG, was this recipe incredible! My entire family loved it, including my daughter (though she did not eat the mushrooms, onions or green peppers. That was fine. More for me).  We usually love kabobs, but we’re used to doing them with a combination of seafood, peppers, pineapple and tomatoes (our favorite is scallops and grape tomatoes). Even cooked in the oven, it came out delicious. The only problem was that the flavor of the dressing really did not come through (a flaw with my version, not Kelly’s).  The next time, I will marinate the vegetables and chicken in the Italian dressing for about an hour before cooking. I will definitely be making this one again when I have a grill.

This recipe was a bit more expensive than some other ones I make, simply because of the cost of peppers. I bought the mushrooms and tomatoes at Aldi, I had the dressing, green pepper and onion in the house, as well as the skewers. However, the cost was my fault. I forgot to pick up the peppers when I was at Aldi yesterday and had to go to the supermarket to buy them today. And they were $4 a pound! I bought two of the yellow and two of the red, bringing the total to around $8 for peppers (I bought two of each because the remaining peppers will be used in my sweet and sour meatball recipe. I’ll post that another time, I promise). However, it was super simple to make, even if you’re afraid of your grill (I am); just use the broil setting on your oven instead. If you’re looking for a simple way to eat healthier, this recipe is the way to go!

(OK, Kelly. That’s one down, 4 to go. I’m even going to do your extra credit.)

Leave a Reply

