There’s something about hummus

19 Apr

I have a confession to make. I love hummus. No, love is not strong enough. I am absolutely enamored with hummus. It is delicious, healthy, vegetarian and can be used with pretty much everything. Seriously, I put it on carrots, tomatoes, peppers, crackers, pretzels, sandwiches, avocados…anything I can think of. I’ve even eaten spoonfuls of it plain, a la peanut butter from a jar. But I have one problem with hummus: it’s super expensive to buy.

My favorite brand, Sabra, runs $4 per tub at my supermarket (there are very few foods I am brand specific about. Hummus is one of them). Sure, I can make sure that I budget for at least one tub (this is much easier to do since my husband gave up ice cream) but one tub is not enough in my house.

Yes, my husband loves hummus, too! He loves it so much that I have to buy two tubs to avoid an all-out hummus war (I’m not kidding. You should see what happens when the two of us are trying to use the same tub. Sometimes, though, I’ll buy a flavor I know he doesn’t like just so I can have it all to myself. Sure it’s evil, but I do the grocery shopping). Our favorite flavor is the Supremely Spicy; I think the longest it’s lasted in our house is 4 days. And that was only because it somehow got stuffed in the back of the fridge (I had nothing to do with that). You should have seen how excited we were when it resurfaced! It was like finding a ruby in a mountain of rocks (I will cook you dinner if you tell me what song that’s from. You must include title and artist. Dad, if you’re reading, you may not answer).

But our hummus addiction has me thinking–would it be cheaper and even tastier if I could make my own? I’ve never made hummus, or anything of that ilk, before and I’m a bit nervous. What if it tastes terrible? What if it looks like sauce instead of hummus? What if it’s so awful the dog won’t even eat it? Where do I find the ingredients? And how do I know what’s a good recipe and what’s not?

Normally, I don’t have these kinds of concerns. I just dig around on the internet, looking for some recipes and pick the one that seems the easiest/best/most affordable. But with my precious hummus, I’m taking a little more care. So, I ask you…do you have a good recipe for hummus? If so, would you be willing to share? I am willing to try any and all recipes for hummus that are passed my way (although, I think I’ll still have to buy my Sabra from time to time. It’s a borderline addiction. I wonder if Dr. Drew could help…)

14 Responses to “There’s something about hummus”

  1. Tania April 19, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Isn’t that from Meatloaf’s Two Out Three Ain’t Bad? …”but there ain’t no coupe de ville hiding at the bottom of a cracker jack box…”

    • theemptykitchen April 19, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

      yes, it is! i will now cook you dinner. but make sure that you have a fire extinguisher nearby!

  2. mom April 19, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    just wanted to let you know that for the first time today i made hummus. you can take cans of chick peas, garlic and lemon juice, salt and pepper. if you use a food processor and not a food chopper like i did in school, the consistency will be better. you also need a little of the juice from the can of chick peas. i have to tell you it wasn’t bad. miss linda wouldn’t eat it because of the garlic.

  3. Alyssa B. April 19, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    God himself couldn’t replace Sabra Greek Olive hummus. I wish you luck with this project.

  4. Emily April 20, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    We make it all the time. Use a food processor and mom’s recipe above. The good news is you can tweak it all day long until you get the flavor you want. Go easy on the “can juice” until you achieve that flavor, sometimes the add-ins add liquid (i.e. roasted red peppers) and then you’ve got runny, albeit delish, hummus.

    I have faith in you!!!

  5. Sarah April 20, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Easy-Red-Pepper-Hummus/Detail.aspx

    I made this recipe for a potluck at my job and it disappeared within 10 minutes. I improvised a little bit by adding some cayenne pepper and turmeric to it, but it would probably be just as good without the extra spice.

  6. stephb April 20, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    i’m going to try to make some, too! roasted red pepper is my favorite.

  7. Glitterati April 20, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    I love hummus! And after making it on my own (so easy!), I just can’t justify buying it from the store anymore. There are countless recipes, but mine is:

    – 3 to 4 cloves garlic, smashed (I like it garlicky!)
    – 1 can of chickpeas (540mL), drained (reserve liquid)
    – 2 TBS Tahini (it’s sesame butter. I’ve heard peanut or almond butter works too, but haven’t tried)
    – 1 TBS lemon juice
    – 1 tsp salt, or to taste
    – 2 to 3 dashes Paprika (optional)
    – enough of the chickpea liquid to make the hummus the consistency you like. Or use water or chicken/veg broth.

    – Put everything except the chickpea liquid/water/broth in the food processor. (I have a mini-processor, and that works great though I sometimes need to do it in batches.) Blend until smooth. You may need to add liquid as you go to help it along, until it reaches the consistency you like.

    – I like to serve it with olive oil drizzled on top, and a dash of paprika or cayenne on it for colour.

    Really, you can’t screw up hummus. You could just blend a can of chickpeas with some liquid and it would still taste pretty good. IMO there is no right or wrong way, just fiddle with it until it’s the way you like it. I like to use the same recipe but with white navy beans too!

  8. theemptykitchen April 20, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    thank you all so much for the hummus recipes! i can’t wait to try them out.
    steph, you should come over and we can make hummus and cakeballs!

  9. Stan April 21, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Hummus is great!!

  10. TW April 23, 2010 at 6:39 am #

    Costco has HUGE tubs of Sabra hummus…and they are usually like $6! much cheaper than buying from the grocery store.

  11. Jennifer April 23, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    I love hummus too, and I did major research on line plus talked to friends who successfully made their own hummus before I attempted. Start with dry chick peas, they are cheaper and healthier, less sodium. The trick is to soak them in cold water overnight with a teaspoon of baking soda, it helps to make them creamier. In the morning change the water out for fresh water and cont. to soak for 3 hours. Change out the water yet again and put on stove with 1/2 teaspoon baking soda and bring to a gentle boil for 45 min to an hour. Until they are soft and you can mash them with a fork. Drain them, reserving 1 cup of the liquid they were cooked in. Put them in the food processor with 1/2 cup tahini, 1/2 cup olive oil, fresh lemon juice, salt and what ever other spices, flavors turn you on. Process, if the hummus is a little to dry add the cooking liquid, up to a cup. The more you make it, the better you will get at getting the spices just like you desire. BTW, 2 dry cups of chick peas, no more, your food processor won’t be able to handle more than that, and it makes a good amount of hummus. Good luck!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fantastic Product Friday: Sabra hummus « The Empty Kitchen - May 20, 2011

    […] love hummus. I love how versatile it is and I love all the different flavors. I’ve even written about hummus before. But it bears a second mention, particularly because of today’s fantastic product–Sabra […]

Leave a Reply

