Reader recipe–Mexican pizza

29 Apr

The third installment of reader recipes comes from Katherine who blogs at The Great PBJ Battle:

Ingredients:

  • Homemade pizza crust
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 can corn
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 tbsp ranch dressing
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. Prepare pizza crust
  2. Saute pepper and onion until soft
  3. Add corn and beans. Heat through.
  4. Combine ranch dressing and salsa. Spread on pizza crust.
  5. Top with pepper, onion, corn and bean mixture
  6. Sprinkle cheese on top of mixture
  7. Bake at 425 for 10 minutes (15 for crispier crust)

The verdict

Except for the lack of pico de gallo and using a homemade pizza crust, I followed this recipe exactly. We even had it with fruit salad like Katherine did! My daughter devoured that part of the meal, especially the strawberries. She did not eat the pizza, but I don’t think it had anything to do with the recipe. She does not eat pizza at all. I have yet to figure out why. But my husband and I absolutely adored this recipe. We did not add the pico de gallo on top but we found this pizza to be absolutely perfect without it. It was delicious. The only problem was that the crust was not crispy enough for us. We like really crispy crust. I think the next time we make it (and there definitely will be a next time), we’ll cook it a little longer.

Although Katherine’s original recipe calls for this to make 2 pizzas, we only used it to make 1. I’m thinking it probably had something to do with the size of the pizza crust, not Katherine’s recipe. My husband is in charge of making the crust and he makes them rather large. Had it been a standard 12″ crust, we probably could have stretched the mixture for 2 pizzas.

This was an inexpensive recipe to make. I think I spent maybe $7 for the whole recipe. Having a stocked pantry really helped offset the cost of some of the ingredients, as did making the crust rather than buying a prepared one. In addition to being inexpensive, it was completely vegetarian, healthy and easy. Anyone at any cooking level can make this recipe, especially if you use a prepared pizza crust.

So far, we’re 3 for 3 on reader suggested recipes. I can’t wait to decide what’s next!

2 Responses to “Reader recipe–Mexican pizza”

  1. the great pbj battle April 30, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    I’m so glad you liked it! I swear I’m going to make your crust next time I make a pizza.

    • theemptykitchen May 3, 2010 at 7:34 am #

      the post punk kitchen is awesome for those kinds of recipes. this one is really easy. we’ve even started substituting white flour with wheat flour and it’s just as good!

Leave a Reply

