Enchillada casserole

19 May

It has occurred to me that, although I have been spending a lot of time talking about food, I haven’t been spending much time giving recipes. I sincerely apologize.

To make it up to you, I’m going to provide two recipes today! What I like about these recipes is that they fulfill all of my recipe requirements: they are inexpensive, vegetarian, tasty and healthy (for the most part). They also are good for using up leftover taco shells and hot dog rolls. (Not together. That’s just gross.) Of course, I stole got them from another source but adapted them to my family’s tastes.

Recipe #1

Enchillada casserole–this is a recipe I got from a vegetarian magazine when I first became a vegetarian 2 years ago. It’s not the quickest recipe to make, but the fact that it provides leftovers for a few days compensates for the time spent cooking it. We usually have this dish with a salad made of corn and tomatoes.

Ingredients

  • 1 12 oz bag Morningstar Farms burger crumbles
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • ½ cup minced scallions
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup vegetable stock
  • 2 cans pinto beans (I use 1 large can)
  • 2 cans enchillada sauce (I use 1 large can)
  • 12 corn tortillas (I usually wind up using about 6)
  • 1 bag shredded cheese
  • 1 4.5 oz can diced green chilies, optional
  • 1 bag Fritos, crushed, optional

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°
  2. Combine burger crumbles and taco seasoning in a medium bowl. Set aside.
  3. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the scallions and cook 3 minutes or until softened.
  4. Stir in the flour and cook 1 minute.
  5. Add the stock and cook, stirring, to achieve a smooth consistency.
  6. Add the pinto beans and set aside.
  7. Spray a 9X13 baking pan with oil (or, if you have one, use a 9X13 Pyrex pan). Cover the bottom with enchillada sauce and layer in some of the taco shells. Then add some of the burger mix, some of the beans, some cheese, some chilies if you’re using them and some more enchillada sauce. Repeat.
  8. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake for another 10-15 minutes until bubbly and brown. If you’re adding Fritos, cover the top of the casserole after you take off the foil but before you put it back in the oven.

This is what it looks like:

I promise it tastes significantly better than it looks. The last time I made it I added a can of tomatoes with diced chilies. It was a great addition to the recipe. I’ve never used the Fritos because although I love Fritos, I just can’t bring myself to use them as a topping.

Leave a Reply

