Salsa-Vegetable Stuffed Peppers

2 Jun

Last week, I was looking for something different to do with some red peppers that I bought. I was tired of eating them in stir-frys or cut-up and dipped in hummus. I went spelunking in one of my many Weight Watchers cookbooks and found a recipe for salsa-vegetable stuffed peppers. I was totally stoked about them because I had all of the ingredients (I substituted green peppers for the red ones I had on hand) and rather than using the slow-cooker, I just baked them in the oven.

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium red peppers
  • 1 cup bottled salsa, divided
  • 2 cups zucchini, chopped
  • 1 15-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup reduced fat shredded Cheddar Cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°

Cut tops off peppers; discard tops, seeds and membranes

Combine 1 cup salsa, zucchini, and beans in a medium bowl; stir well. Divide mixture evenly among peppers.

Sprinkle cheese evenly among peppers.

 

Put peppers in a baking dish. Add approximately 3 tbsp water to dish.

Bake peppers for approximately 45 minutes, or until cooked through and cheese is melted. Peppers should be soft but not mushy.

The Verdict

I enjoyed this meal a lot. It was easy to make and delicious served with couscous. Plus, I had the cutest helper ever:

 My husband, who generally does not like stuffed peppers, did not like them at all (he was nice enough to try them because they were made with red peppers). My daughter, who generally does not like most of my cooking, liked the inside but wouldn’t eat the pepper because it was “hot”.  The leftovers did not get eaten because the uneaten pepper got buried in the back of the fridge (most likely behind the 14 cups of soup I made the next day).

This is a great vegetarian variation of a standard comfort food. It was tasty, different and, except for the peppers, inexpensive. I’m glad I tried it and I’m looking forward to making it again. Except next time, I’ll only make it for myself.

Leave a Reply

