Avocado Thursdays

3 Jun

Photo from margaritastewart.blogspot.com

 

Avocados are awesome. 

I didn’t always feel this way about avocados. I had to grow to enjoy them after a very traumatic experience making guacamole dip for 44 people. I was 16, had no idea how to cook and avocados, with their skin and large pit, were very daunting. All I remember was spending a great deal of time in an outdoor make-shift kitchen for one hour, pitting and peeling avocados. My hands were so green at the end that I looked like I had just murdered Kermit rather than made guacamole. My fingernails, cuticles and hands were stained green for about 2 days. Needless to say, it was a long time before I was able to look at an avocado with anything but contempt and disgust. 

Then I had an awakening. I’m not sure when it happened, I just know that it did and I have been forever changed.  I have now realized that they are delicious and healthy and green and vegetarian. They can be used in so many different recipes and provide all sorts of good nutrition for not a lot of money. I love them so much that I’ve decided to devote every Thursday throughout the summer to avocados. With that, I proudly introduce Avocado Thursdays! 

Before I send you into the magical yet complicated world of avocados, I feel compelled to share with you what I wish I had known when I was standing under that tent–how to properly peel and pit this wonderful fruit (yes, it’s a fruit. Who knew?!).  Here’s a video that can explain it way better than I ever could: 

It really is that easy! It takes practice but once you get the hang of it, you’ll wonder why you thought it was so intimidating. 

The other part of avocados that I find particularly daunting is picking one that’s ripe. Fortunately, my supermarket has made this an easy task by adding a “Ripe Now” sticker to the avocados, but if I shop at Aldi or somewhere else, it’s not that easy. To help, I found these tips: 

Now that the basics are covered, I will be providing 1 avocado-centric recipe every Thursday from now through the end of the summer. If you have a favorite avocado recipe, please feel free to share! 

If you’re interested in learning more about avocados, you can visit www.avocado.org

Leave a Reply

