Avocado Thursday: Avocado tacos

10 Jun

I found this recipe on All Recipes about a year ago. It’s really easy and quick to prepare, and it can be jazzed up however you like. I apologize for the lack of pictures. I’m having problems with my laptop.

Ingredients:

  • 3 avocados, pitted, peeled and mashed
  • ¼ cup onions, diced
  • ¼ tsp garlic salt
  • 12 (6 inch) corn tortillas
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro leaves, finely chopped (I skip this ingredient)
  • jalapeño pepper sauce, to taste (hot sauce can work, too)
  • optional: cheese, tomatoes, salsa, pico de gallo, lettuce, sliced black olives

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°
  2. In a medium bowl, mix avocados, onions and garlic salt
  3. Arrange tortillas in a single layer on a large baking sheet and place in preheated oven for 2-5 minutes, until heated through
  4. Spread tortillas with the avocado mixture. Garnish with cilantro and sprinkle with jalapeño pepper sauce.
  5. Top with optional toppings

I don’t make this recipe that often; it’s more of a treat for us. I’m not sure why, though. It’s a lot less messy than traditional tacos and it’s definitely a different spin on a household favorite. I eat the tacos as described above (minus the cilantro) but my husband will use the avocado mixture as a spread rather than the filling. From what he says, it tastes really good with taco seasoned meat. I will take his word for it.

If you try this recipe, please post a comment and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

