What the Baltimore Orioles have taught me about weight loss

18 Jun

For those you who don’t follow baseball, the Baltimore Orioles are the worst team in baseball. They stink. Big time. Not only are they in last place, but they have the worst record in baseball. Winning games is virtually impossible for them. Nothing they do works. I know exactly how they feel because I have the same problems trying to lose weight.

Losing weight is a constant struggle for me. No matter how hard I try, like the Orioles, I just can’t win. It’s frustrating and disheartening especially when I try really, really hard and the scale doesn’t budge. I imagine it’s how the Orioles feel, practicing and trying, just see another number added to the “L” column. But there is a positive to all those Ls!  Watching the Orioles lose consistently over the last 13 seasons, I’ve learned some valuable lessons to apply to my weight loss endeavor:

  1.  A support system is key. While the Orioles need good coaching, management and fans, so do those of us trying to lose weight. For me, losing weight is hard to do without a strong support system. I need to surround myself with people who are going to be there to help me along, to revel in my success and comfort me in my losses. I need friends and family to keep me motivated. That support system is what keeps me going; if I’m not doing it for me, I’m doing it for the people I care about (my “fans”). And quite frankly, a room full of people doing the wave when I step up to a plate would be pretty cool.
  2. A win is still a win even if they come 2 weeks apart. The Orioles have difficulty stringing together more than 2 wins in a row. For me, I can’t lose weight for more than 2 weeks in a row. But just like the Orioles, I need to be happy with the 2 weeks because that’s proof that I can do it right. Then I need to remember what I did and do it again.
  3. Remember past performances. The Orioles didn’t always stink. Back in the 80s, they were good. They even won a World Series! They had Cal Ripkin, Jr! For me, I wasn’t always overweight. There was a time that I lost 30 pounds and I looked good! I wasn’t self-conscious about my appearance or obsessed about my weight. I just did what I had to do; every day I went out there and I won. Just like the Orioles of the 80s. I think we can both do it again. Because a size 6 pants and a World Series ring are the same.
  4. Even if everyone else around you is soaring, don’t give up. The American League East is a tough division. There’s the Yankees, the Red Sox, the Devil Rays (who knew they’d ever be good?) and the Blue Jays. 3 of 4 of those teams have the best records in baseball. That makes the Orioles look even more pitiful. That’s how weight loss is for me.  Everyone around me has a great record and I’m stuck in the basement with a tiny winning percentage. But just like the Orioles go out there and play every day, through all of their embarrassment, I keep going. Eventually I’ll succeed. I can’t stay in the basement forever. I don’t want to, either. It’s cold down there.
  5. The fundamentals are the most important way to consistent success. Although it’s nice to watch the Orioles absolutely decimate a team on the scoreboard, one big blow-out isn’t going to improve their status. They need focus on the fundamentals of hitting, catching, fielding, pitching and running. Consistency in the fundamentals is a surefire way to success. The same goes for weight loss, except the fundamentals are diet and exercise. If I can’t consistently watch my calorie intake or break a sweat, I’m not going to lose weight. Sure, one week of losing 8 pounds is nice but what about the next week? Small, consistent success building a winning record.

As a lifelong New York Mets fan, I never thought that I’d have anything in common with the Orioles (with the exception of a burning desire to witness the demise of the Yankees). But the more I struggle with losing weight and the more I see the Orioles struggle with winning games, I’ve come to realize that there’s a lot to be learned from the Orioles difficulties.  

So thanks for the life lessons, Baltimore!  They’ve been more helpful than I can express. To return the favor, here’s a ray of optimism from my husband, a die-hard fan: if you reverse your record, it’s the best in baseball!

3 Responses to “What the Baltimore Orioles have taught me about weight loss”

  1. carol June 18, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    how true how true. as a lifelong weight sufferer i appreciated everything you wrote. keep up the good work.

  2. Another Suburban Mom June 19, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    This is one of the best posts on weight loss I have ever read. I am going to have to pimp this today.

Leave a Reply

