Because I love my mom

23 Jun

My mom sent me an email earlier today with a recipe she tried from the $5 Dinner Mom cookbook (Erin Chase).  I didn’t try it, and probably never will since I don’t like cauliflower at all (it looks like a little brain and I just can’t bring myself to eat it), but because I love my mom and she went through the trouble of sending me the recipe, I though I’d pass it along: 

Cauliflower Casserole  

 Cauliflower Casserole

Photo from $5 Dinners

 

  • 1 large head of cauliflower broken into small pieces
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 16 oz container cottage cheese (low-fat is OK) 
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (low-fat is OK)
  • 2 peaches
Directions:
  1. In stovetop steamer, steam the cauliflower pieces for 5-6 min. or place in a microwave-safe bowl with 1/2 cup of water. cover with plastic wrap and microwave 4-5 min. Drain excess water. remember microwaves differ.
  2. Preheat oven to 350.
  3. In a large bowl mix the flour, cottage cheese, salt and pepper. Add the cooked cauliflower and stir to combine.
  4. Place mixture in 8×8 baking dish. Sprinkle with Cheddar cheese over the top. Bake in preheated oven for 20 min. or until the cheese is golden brown.
  5. Slice peaches and serve the cauliflower with the peaches.

Mom says:  I tried something new tonight and didn’t turn out all that bad. I ate it with a tossed salad. It was very filling.  

Mom, I love you but I will take your word for it, especially the ever-encouraging “it didn’t turn out all that bad”. Thank you for sending it to me, though. 

If you have tried this recipe, or know of another variation, please feel free to share!

2 Responses to “Because I love my mom”

  1. the great pbj battle June 23, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    I don’t get the peaches. Is it a side dish suggestion to the side dish? I love cauliflower and I love cheesy cauliflower…but still perplexed with the peach thing. 🙂

    • theemptykitchen June 24, 2010 at 7:21 am #

      i think the peaches are a topping for the cauliflower.

Leave a Reply

