Avocado Thursday: Avocado salsa

24 Jun

In addition to loving avocados and hummus, I love salsa. It is a wonderful condiment that goes with so many foods. My favorite food to eat with traditional red salsa? Popcorn or butter flavored rice cakes (I know it sounds disgusting but it’s seriously delicious). Unfortunately, I wind up wearing as much salsa as I consume.

One of the pitfalls of salsa is it’s red and drippy. Not a good match when you are a messy eater prone to dropping food on her clothes. So I set out to find an alternative. And what did I find? Avocado salsa!

One of the first elements that drew me to this recipe is how easy the directions are. There aren’t too many ingredients, either. I also think that I can get all of the ingredients in either my fridge or at the supermarket (or Aldi) for under $4. And in the spirit of full disclosure, I have not tried this recipe but I cannot wait to try it (if you do try it, or if you have tried it, please feel free to post a comment with your opinion):

Avocado Salsa (from www.cookinglight.com, pictured with black bean tacos):

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup finely chopped tomato
  • 1/2  cup  chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2  cup  chopped peeled avocado
  • 2  tablespoons  finely chopped red onion
  • 3  tablespoons  fresh lime juice
  • 1/4  teaspoon  sea salt
  • 1  garlic clove, minced
  • 1  jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a bowl; lightly mash with a fork.

Leave a Reply

