Pretzels and the best Glee performance. Ever.

28 Jun

I’ve said (numerous times) before that I’m a fan of obsessed with Glee. After watching a performance like this, it’s pretty easy to see why:

What the performance doesn’t show is that after the dream sequence is over, Artie’s girlfriend, Tina, brings him a pretzel, presumably from the mall food court. While the insane goodness of an Auntie Anne’s pretzel cannot be denied, they are also insanely unhealthy. And expensive. So I did some digging for a homemade pretzel recipe that’s healthier and more affordable (and hopefully just as tasty). To my surprise, I found quite a few.

At first I was going to use Alton Brown’s recipe, since my husband has a man-crush on him, but that recipe was a bit too complicated for my liking. So I picked this one instead:

Buttery Soft Pretzels (from www.allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

  • 4 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil 
  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 4 cups hot water
  • 1/4 cup kosher salt, for topping
  •  

    Directions:

    1. In a small bowl, dissolve yeast and 1 teaspoon sugar in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.
    2. In a large bowl, mix together flour, 1/2 cup sugar, and salt. Make a well in the center; add the oil and yeast mixture. Mix and form into a dough. If the mixture is dry, add one or two tablespoons of water. Knead the dough until smooth, about 7 to 8 minutes. Lightly oil a large bowl, place the dough in the bowl and turn to coat with oil. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place until doubled in size, about 1 hour.
    3. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C). In a large bowl, dissolve baking soda in hot water.
    4. When risen, turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and divide into 12 equal pieces. Roll each piece into a rope and twist into a pretzel shape. Once all of the dough is all shaped, dip each pretzel into the baking soda solution and place on a greased baking sheet. Sprinkle with kosher salt.
    5. Bake in preheated oven for 8 minutes, until browned.

    The verdict

    This is totally a recipe I can use. I love pretzels and this seems not too difficult of a recipe to follow. My family goes through pretzels really, really quickly and it will be nice to have some fresh, doughy pretzels in the house. I’m also thinking about incorporating some toppings like caramel, cream cheese, salsa cheese or perhaps some ice cream sprinkles. Maybe mini chocolate chips. The possibilities are endless!

    Based on the rave reviews this recipe garnered on All Recipes, I am left to assume that they’re delicious. I had planned on making them this weekend but my stove is in my living room due to a much needed kitchen renovation (so long, disgusting vinyl! Hello, tile!). This will definitely be one of the first new recipes I try when my stove is returned to its home.

    See full size image

    Leave a Reply

