Avocado Thursday: Avocado Trivia

1 Jul

For this week’s edition of Avocado Thursday, I thought I’d share some trivia I’ve learned about avocados: 

  • There is a California band named The Avocados
  • Singer Jason Mraz lives on an avocado farm and has a song titled “The Avocado Tree”
  • Weird Al has an unreleased song parody of The Eagles’ “Desperado” titled “Avocado”. (I have not heard it but I’ve read the lyrics with the tune of Desperado playing in my head. It’s a pretty funny song.)
  • About 50 million pounds of avocados are consumed in the US on Super Bowl Sunday
  • Fallbrook CA is the avocado capital of the world
  • The Haas avocado is the only year round avocado
  • Avocados have the highest protein content of any fruit
  • The Aztecs worshipped avocados as a sex and fertility fruit

Who knew avocados were so interesting? 

I also found this recipe for Avocado Mousse on www.avocadorecipes.com. I’m not sure how I feel about this recipe because it’s both disturbing and fascinating at the same time. So, I thought I’d pass it along: 

Ingredients: 

  • 3 avocados
  • ½ cup of 35% cream
  • ¼ cup of sugar
  • Freshly squeezed juice of 2 limes

Directions: 

  1. Whip the cream and the sugar in a mixing bowl to soft peak stage.
  2. Cover and refrigerate.
  3. Peel and pit the avocados.
  4. Blend the avocados and lime juice in a blender until smooth.
  5. Fold the avocado and lime mix into the cream.
  6. Serve.

If you want to make this recipe but need help with some of terms like fold, check out this glossary of cooking terms. 

I'm not sure if this is a picture of this exact recipe but I imagine it's close enough

Leave a Reply

