Avocado Thursday: Portabella Burgers with Avocado Spread

8 Jul

Today was a great day. First, the Emmy nominations were announced and I couldn’t be happier (19 nominations for Glee and Friday Night Lights finally got some props). Then, while searching for a recipe for the package of gigantic portabella mushrooms that I have in my fridge, I found one that not only uses the mushrooms but includes avocados as well! How kick-ass is that?

At first, I was a bit nervous when I pulled up this recipe. There are two reasons for my trepidation: one, it involved more ingredients than I’m used to using and two, it is so damn hot I really didn’t want to cook (and with a broken air conditioner, I really didn’t want to cook). However, I’m going away for a week and I wanted to use up what’s in my fridge. So I sucked it up and cooked. I’m ecstatic that I did because this sandwich rocked my socks off. It looked, and tasted, like something I would have paid for in a restaurant!

Portabella Burgers with Avocado Spread (from www.allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium portobella mushrooms, stems removed
  • 1 medium onion, cut into 1/2-inch slices
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 3/4 tsp salt, divided
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper, divided
  • 1 fully ripened avocado, halved, pitted and sliced (I used 2)
  • 2 tbsp low-fat plain yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 4 whole grain hamburger buns, toasted (I used Arnold’s sandwich thins)
  • 4 roasted red peppers (I used jarred)

Directions:

  1. Brush mushrooms and onion slices with oil; sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon of the salt and 1/4 teaspoon of the pepper.
  2. Heat large skillet or grill pan over medium heat until hot. Add mushrooms; cook until tender, 8 to 10 minutes, turning once.
  3. Transfer mushrooms to plate, cavity side up; cover to keep warm. In same skillet, cook onion slices until golden, about 8 minutes, turning occasionally.
  4. Meanwhile, combine in small bowl, 1/2 of the Avocado, yogurt, garlic and remaining 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper; mash until smooth.
  5. Spoon onions and roasted peppers into mushroom cavities, divided equally. Spread smooth Avocado mixture on bottom of each bun; top each with stuffed mushrooms.
  6. Top with remaining sliced Avocado. Cover with tops of buns.

When you’re done, it should look something like this (except less like the inside of a Muppet’s mouth and more like a sandwich):

I was so impressed with myself when I was done making this sandwich. It was that good. However, the next time I make it (and there will be a next time), I think I will grill the mushrooms rather than cook them in a pan. I did not do that this time because my husband was not home and I am deathly afraid of the barbeque (for some reason that I can’t explain, I have visions of myself being blown up by the propane tank).

Another great thing about this recipe is that there was no need to have a side dish. It was filling and sufficient on its own. It was also not too expensive. I spent just over $7 for all the ingredients; had I bought the mushrooms (they were given to us by my in-laws. My in-laws are more than generous when we spend the weekend at their house), the total cost would have been around $12 (these were some giant ass mushrooms).  The recipe makes 4 servings, which equates to $3 per serving. Had I bought this sandwich in a restaurant, it most likely would have cost $12 for one sandwich (excluding drink and tip). I think I got a good deal!

This recipe was so good and I cannot wait to make it again…probably tomorrow since I have a bunch of leftovers.

Leave a Reply

