Ode to the knish

19 Jul

I spent all of last week visiting my parents, which meant I got to eat lots of foods I don’t normally get to eat. One of those foods is the knish. A knish, as my husband so lovingly described it, is essentially deep fried mashed potatoes. They are supremely delicious and noticeably absent in my normal restaurants of choice (I live in Delaware. Kosher delis are not easy to find). Eating a knish with dinner one night, I wrote this little poem in my head:

Knishes, knishes everywhere

Knishes, knishes are round or square.

They are tasty on a dish.

They are tasty served with fish.

A yummy fried potato delight

Even baked, they are out of sight.

From the supermarket or from a deli

They are delicious in my belly.

When I’m old and have no teeth to chew

Knishes, knishes

I’ll still eat you.

 

3 Responses to “Ode to the knish”

  1. Jaimee July 19, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    That was brilliant

    “From the supermarket or from a deli, They are delicious in my belly” is my favorite line

  2. carol July 19, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    super

  3. Sarah July 20, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    i think katz’s deli ships knishes around the country. my dad grew up in brooklyn and my family now lives in a jersey suburb of the city, so I know that whenever I visit them there is bound to be at least 5 packages of knishes in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

