My sanity has been saved! And a smoothie.

23 Jul

Now that I am a mom, I have resigned myself to certain facts:

  1. I will never again be able to carry a small purse.
  2. I will never again be able to get a good night’s sleep.
  3. My house is not actually my house. It is the residence that I pay for and where my daughter allows me to live.
  4. People don’t actually want to see me. When they say “I can’t wait to see you” it really means “I can’t wait to see your daughter. You can come along if you need to”.
  5. I have lost complete and utter control of my radio and television.

Number 5 is the one that really gets to me. I’m very, um, particular about what I watch and listen to. Needless to say, when my boss my daughter is around, I get absolutely no choice (well, I do get a choice. I get to choose between a)giving in and having my ears assaulted or b) dealing with a tantrum. I tend to go with option a). It’s gotten to the point where I tell her that The Wiggles are on vacation or Barney is taking a nap or Dora is at school because if I have to listen to and/or watch them one more time, my sanity will completely evaporate and my sanity is pretty much on life support at this point. Which is why I’m  ecstatic that my daughter is now totally and completely obsessed with the Fresh Beat Band.

The Fresh Beat Band is a live-action musical sitcom for preschoolers; sort of like the Monkees but for 4 year olds and with better hair. I have found that the Fresh Beat Band is vastly superior to most kids’ shows for the following reasons:

  1. They are not bossy cartoons (yes, Dora, I’m talking to you)
  2. They are not people dressed up in animal costumes
  3. They are only on once a day
  4. The songs are catchy yet not whiny and it is a fine line between the two
  5. Twist is kinda cute

Since my daughter likes this show, and I can tolerate it, I checked out their website on www.nickjr.com to see if I could find a CD or videos online for her to watch. I was amazed to see that there was actually a recipes section (you were probably wondering how all of this relates to food)! And, unlike most kids’ foods, these recipes are actually grown-up friendly, too! My personal favorite is the Mango-Banana Groovy Smoothie. It’s a great recipe to make with your kids, has a lot of fruit and is super easy to make, especially if you use the frozen fruit (no cutting). Plus, the combination of mango, banana and pineapple is delicious and a great summer treat.

Mango-Banana Groovy Smoothie (from www.nickjr.com/recipes):

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen pineapple chunks
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen mango chunks
  • 1 medium banana, sliced thin
  • 1/2 cup apple cider
  • 1/2 cup low-fat plain yogurt

Directions:

  1. Add fruit, juice and yogurt to blender.
  2. Blend on low, stopping to stir if necessary, until smooth.
  3. Increase to high speed for a few seconds.
  4. Serve in glasses.
One Response to “My sanity has been saved! And a smoothie.”

  1. Sarah K. @ The Pajama Chef July 24, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    mmm that sounds good! (even if it is from a kids show!)

Leave a Reply

