The Empty Kitchen makes brownies. With peanut butter cups. And frosting.

2 Aug

For many years, I was known affectionately as the Wandering Jew. Contrary to popular belief, it had nothing to do with my spectacularly horrible sense of direction. No, my nickname arose due to the fact that I moved approximately every 13 months. Sometimes, though, good things happen when I wander, particularly when I wander around in an unfamiliar supermarket.

Shopping in an unfamiliar supermarket is, for me, a three-step process. First, I wander around aimlessly, hopelessly trying to find the one particular item I went in to purchase. Second, finding this one item takes approximately 20 minutes which then in turn makes me late for everything else that day. And third, because I’m lost, I wind up seeing all kinds of goodies that I wouldn’t normally see and because I don’t want to feel like I’m a lost idiot, I buy those goodies. Usually, that money is just wasted on something that doesn’t taste nearly as good as I’d hoped. Sometimes, however, life has a way of paying me back for my aimless wandering.

Such was the case this past week. I had gone into the supermarket between my work and my daughter’s daycare looking for Old Bay (the single greatest spice on the planet). For some strange reason I had thought the Old Bay would be with the rest of the spices (it’s not–it’s by the seafood counter). As I was looking for the seafood counter (the fluorescent lights and the very large letters saying “SEAFOOD” were of no consequence to me), I ran across the baking aisle. I saw sale stickers so I decided to look. I soon found these:

Pillsbury Milk Chocolate Brownie Minis Mix

 Mini-brownies! That are made only with water! And the tray comes in the box! I couldn’t wait to make these. But brownies are not good enough by themselves. No, I needed to put frosting on them, so I grabbed a container of rainbow chip frosting. While I was at it, I picked up some Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups minis, dark chocolate style. I put these items in my basket and then, in a flash of observant genius, found the seafood counter. I went and picked up the Old Bay and headed to the checkout lane.

I didn’t do anything with them that night. The next day, Friday, while I was waiting for my husband to come home from work I decided to make the brownies. The reason for this was two-fold. One, I was trying to be pro-active in the money department; we were planning on going to our favorite pizza place and right next door is a cupcake shop. I figured if we had brownies waiting at home, we wouldn’t be tempted to buy cupcakes (at $3 a cupcake for 3 cupcakes vs. the $6 for 12 brownies, plus leftover peanut butter cups, the brownies were a way better deal). Two, it would fill time. So I set to work making the brownies and as I was reading the directions from the box, my eyes drifted down to the “recipe suggestion” at the bottom of the page. I then needed a napkin because I started to drool.

The recipe suggestion on the box was this:

  • Cook the brownies according to directions on box
  • When brownies are done, immediately place one Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup mini into each warm brownie
  • Refrigerate for 30 minutes
  • Top with favorite frosting and sprinkles

This is what the finished product looks like:

 

To me, this is the holy grail of dessert recipes. It combines a brownie, a Reese’s Peanut Butter cup and frosting–how could anything possibly be better? There isn’t. My whole family loved this recipe. The brownies did not last through the weekend and, if I remember correctly, I ate one for breakfast one morning. 

The only downfall to this dessert is that it’s small. It’s finished after about 3 or 4 bites. You want it to last for about 15 bites. I suppose you could have 5 of them in order to equal the 15 bites but then there would be none left for the next day. Which is sad.

It’s not often that one can go in to a supermarket for Old Bay and come out with the most wonderful brownie recipe known to man. I guess that’s one perk of aimless wandering!

2 Responses to “The Empty Kitchen makes brownies. With peanut butter cups. And frosting.”

  1. Melissa E. August 2, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    Those brownies sound delightfully decadent. I may have to try those sometime when the chocolate cravings become too much. Of course, my husband may eat them all. What a lovely idea. 🙂

    • theemptykitchen August 3, 2010 at 10:33 am #

      i actually tried to hide them from my husband. more for me!

Leave a Reply

