A new twist on sushi

4 Aug

I came across this recipe while flipping through our BJs flyer. It seemed really interesting and different so I thought I’d give it a try. Plus, I’m really terrible at coming up with lunch ideas (the most creative I get is peanut butter and jelly cut with a cookie cutter); this gave me another recipe to add to the lunch arsenal:

Finger-Food “Sushi” (adapted from a recipe from BJ’s Journal):

Ingredients:

  • slices of Pumpernickel bread
  • Cream cheese
  • Turkey (can substitute ham)
  • Cheese (optional)
  • cucumber, thinly sliced
  • avocado, thinly sliced

Directions:

  1. Trim the crusts off the bread
  2. Flatten the bread with a rolling pin
  3. Spread cream cheese on bread
  4. Layer meat and cheese on top of cream cheese
  5. Layer cucumber and avocado (hint: layer these horizontally).
  6. Roll up
  7. Slice into 1 inch pieces

Turkey and cheese

 

My husband and I loved these (I had mine without the turkey and cheese); my daughter would not go near them. I attribute this to her hatred of all green foods not the fact that they were bad. The “sushi” was somewhat easy to make once my husband showed me that layering the cucumber and avocado horizontally made it easy to roll up. It was definitely a different twist on lunch. I’m thinking that the next time I may use hummus rather than cream cheese. Yum.

What do you think? What variations would you make?

3 Responses to “A new twist on sushi”

  1. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary August 4, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    Love the idea. My kids love cream cheese, but rarely eat bread. Maybe if I make it look like sushi (which they love, go figure) it’ll be a good substitute for sandwiches. 🙂

    P.S. I can’t see the image for some reason.

  2. stephb August 5, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    now THAT is some sushi i could eat!! there are so many ways you could change this up, too!

    • theemptykitchen August 5, 2010 at 11:04 am #

      i forgot about the benefits for those with a seafood allergy! thanks, steph!

Leave a Reply

