Avocado Thursday: Stuffed Avocados

5 Aug

I was talking to a co-worker today (the same one who gave me the recipe for the MAT sandwich) about avocados. She shares the same love of avocados as me; in fact, she’s the only person I know who likes them more than me. I actually refer to her as my avocado dealer. In any case, we were discussing avocado recipes and here’s what she shared:

Ingredients:

  • ¼-½ cup shrimp, crab, tuna, egg, chicken or any other mayonnaise-based salad
  • 1 avocado
  • Sliced vegetables: carrots, tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, celery
Stuffed Avocados

Tuna stuffed avocado, from http://www.acefitness.org

Directions:

  1. Pit avocado
  2. Fill empty space left by pit with egg, chicken, or tuna salad
  3. Garnish with choice of sliced vegetables

(Other variations of this recipe can include: tomato and corn stuffed avocado; cucumber stuffed avocado; black bean salad stuffed avocado; and quinoa, cashew and pineapple stuffed avocado. There is an endless amount of variations but there are some of the ones that I’ve come up with that I’m most looking forward to trying.)

I think this recipe is genius. It accomplishes so much with so little. It delivers a ton of nutrition and taste which makes it enticing to eat. The ingredients are cheap to buy which makes enticing to cook. It’s also a complete meal that involves no cooking which makes it perfect for a hot summer night. It’s also portable which makes it perfect for work or school.

That’s two great avocado recipes from co-worker. Unfortunately for me and Avocado Thursday, she’s on vacation next week.  Does anyone have a non-guacamole avocado recipe that he or she would like to share and have featured in next week’s Avocado Thursday?

One Response to “Avocado Thursday: Stuffed Avocados”

  1. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary August 6, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    I was just looking at the one last avocado sitting in the kitchen, and thinking that it has reached a perfect ripeness and should be eaten for lunch. I have some extra salmon salad, too, so now I have a plan! Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

