A tribute to my physics teacher, Mr. Paul Gordon

17 Sep

I hated high school. I know, I know, most people hated high school but I really. Hated. High school. I counted down the days until I graduated and looked forward to nothing more than leaving for college and never looking back. However, there were some bright spots in an otherwise abysmal 4 years: being part of the senior show, playing softball (until an unforseen injury ruined what I think could have been a lucrative career), getting to have some of the same teachers as Judd Apatow and my physics class.

I never thought that I would have enjoyed physics. I am probably the worst science student ever but I loved physics. I think it had a lot to do with my teacher, Mr. Gordon. Mr. Gordon was just one of those teachers who made learning fun. He could have been teaching the class in Chinese and I would have enjoyed it (how could you not enjoy a class where your teacher lets you use a slingshot to launch water balloons at classroom windows). On top of being a great teacher, Mr. Gordon was just a really nice man. He genuinely cared about all of his students. I remember when I was at home with the previously mentioned unforseen injury (line drive to the eye), Mr. Gordon called my house to check on me; I had been absent for several days, he heard about what happened and he wanted to make sure it wasn’t too serious. How many teachers take time out of their days to do that? When I was in school, not too many.

Yesterday I learned that Mr. Gordon was killed in a car accident earlier this week. This saddened me a great deal not only because my physics class was one of my only good memories of high school, but the world lost a genuinely great man. So, in his honor, I found this article about the physics of pizza tossing: http://www.physorg.com/news158491566.html 

I think he would have approved of this lesson.

One Response to “A tribute to my physics teacher, Mr. Paul Gordon”

  1. Scott September 17, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Great tribute!! I think he would like the website as well.

Leave a Reply

