Ten Days of Thanksgiving: Broccoli casserole

17 Nov

I’m not sure at what point this became part of our Thanksgiving dinner. I know that I got the recipe from my aunt almost 7 years ago in my bridal shower wishing well cookbook, so I’m guessing that it happened that following Thanksgiving. Or I could just be making that up. I don’t know. But I know that it’s really, really good.

What’s nice about this recipe is that it’s a nice alternative to green bean casserole. I am a firm believer that there needs to be some sort of green vegetable on the Thanksgiving table, even if that vegetable is smothered in cheese or cream of mushroom soup and topped with something crunchy. It still gives the illusion of being healthy.  And, as someone who does not eat meat, it’s a nice non-starchy side dish. And it’s quick, easy and pretty cheap, which is also nice.

Aunt Susan’s Broccoli Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 2 packages frozen chopped broccoli
  • 1 sleeve Ritz crackers, crumbled
  • 8 oz Velveeta cheese, cubed (I use an 8 oz block of real cheddar cheese as I am opposed to, and scared of, shelf-stable cheese)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Combine all ingredients, leaving some of the Ritz crackers as a topping
  3. Bake until warmed through

This recipe can be doubled or halved, and can be made ahead.

I know that this recipe seems a bit strange, but it’s really delicious. I promise. But I’ll tell you the truth–I’m really the only one who likes it. (I think my mom and one of my sisters like it, too. Maybe.) I can see how, on the surface, it may seem disgusting but if you give a try, you’ll think otherwise. There’s just something about the way the ingredients blend together that make this casserole really tasty.

I’ll make a deal with you–if you do try it, and you don’t like it, I’ll let you write a guest post saying why you didn’t like it. 

Just waiting to be mixed with cheese, butter and crackers.

3 Responses to “Ten Days of Thanksgiving: Broccoli casserole”

  1. April November 18, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    Sounds delish to me!!

  2. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary November 23, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    I make a carrot souffle, which is (mostly) healthy and a nice side-dish. I agree, it’s important to have a veggie on the table even if it’s…um…not entirely healthy. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tortellini soup « The Empty Kitchen - March 16, 2011

    […] and family and contained a wide array of recipes: sweet potato pie, potato latkes, banana bread, broccoli casserole, sausage bread, 3 recipes for chicken marsala (the one food I’m never allowed to make) and […]

Leave a Reply

