Ten Days of Thanksgiving: Pumpkin Pie

18 Nov

It took me a long time to acquire a taste for pumpkin dishes. It’s still not my first choice for any recipe but, back when I started hosting Thanksgiving dinner, I realized that pumpkin pie is pretty much a prerequisite for Thanksgiving desert so I figured I needed to find one that didn’t disgust me too much (I do realize how long that sentence was. Sorry about that!).

So, I set about on an expedition for a pumpkin pie recipe. I went to my go-to site for all things recipe, Allrecipes. I perused the various recipes. I ruled out the ones that were too complicated first. Next, the too expensive ones needed to go. That didn’t leave too many but…I did find this one! It attracted me because it seemed easy, quick and not too pumpkiny. I’m glad that I picked it because it’s become a delightful alternative to traditional pumpkin pie that I continue to make each year I host Thanksgiving dinner. It’s also one of the few recipes I don’t modify. At all.

Pumpkin Cream Pie (from www.allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cold milk
  • 2 (3.5 ounce) packages instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 cup frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • 1 (9 inch) pie crust, baked (you can use a pre-made pie crust, a frozen pie crust or, if you’re brave, a homemade pie crust. I’m trying out the Pioneer Woman’s pie crust this year)

Directions:

  1. Combine milk, pie filling mix, pumpkin, spices, and whipped topping in a deep, narrow-bottom bowl. Beat at lowest speed of an electric mixer for about 1 minute. Pour filling into cooled pie shell.
  2. Chill until set, about 3 hours.

Another perk to this recipe is that it can be made in advance. Part of my planning for Thanksgiving is trying to make a few things, like cranberry sauce and desserts, ahead of time. It saves part of my sanity on the actual day, and I don’t have to spend the whole day cooking.

Do you have any alternative pumpkin pie recipes?

Leave a Reply

