Ten Days of Thanksgiving: Apple pie

22 Nov

When I think of apple pie, I think of one thing: my Uncle David. And it’s not just any thought or vision. No, what I think of is a grown man, small in stature and quiet in nature, sitting at a table, licking his plate clean. Literally. He would pick it up, hold it to his face and lick every single crumb from his plate. It was weird, fascinating and a little gross all at once.  

It is perhaps because of this vision burned into my mind’s eye that I have never been a fan of apple pie. However, this year, I’m going to try to make one. From scratch. How can I not? It’s a traditional dessert and also, my husband keeps not so subtly hinting that he’d like me to make one. So, in order to quiet his nagging, I’m going to give it a try. (Fortunately, I’ll have my sister helping out, the sangria will still be brewing, and I have a frozen pie crust in the freezer waiting to serve as back up).

I’m really nervous about this recipe. I don’t know what it is about pie that envokes so much trepidation in me. I’m pretty confident in my baking skills but when I see a pie recipe, I quickly glaze over and move to the next page. I think the idea of making a pie crust is so daunting because pie crust is either amazing or it sucks. There’s really no room for in-between.  But as nervous as I am, I’m giving it a shot.  

So, with so many recipes out there for both pie crust and apple pie, you may be wondering how I selected the recipes for my first ever attempt at from-scratch apple. It was easy. I went to All Recipes. I selected the pie crust recipe because I happen to have all of the ingredients in my house (and I’m sick of the supermarket at this point) and I selected the apple pie recipe because it was first in the list. But rather than reposting them, here are the links:

Sweet Almond Flaky Pie Crust (I still plan on trying the Pioneer Woman’s pie crust for my Pumpkin Cream Pie)

Apple Pie

There will also be vanilla ice cream (apparently, these two go together as well as chocolate and peanut butter) but I’m not making that myself. That’s for another day.

I do hope this goes well. I really want to conquer my fear of baking pies. But at least if it goes poorly, my husband won’t want me to make it anymore. So, no matter what happens, it’s a win-win. That’s definitely something to be thankful for!

5 Responses to “Ten Days of Thanksgiving: Apple pie”

  1. April November 23, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    I give you mad props (whatever those are) for making your own crust. I thought about it, then went with the Pillsbury crusts, and it still came out delish. The key is in the filling. You can do it!!

    Oh, also slices of cheddar cheese are amazing with apple pie. I don’t know why, but it’s true.

    • theemptykitchen November 23, 2010 at 11:30 am #

      we’ll see how it goes. that’s why i have a back-up plan (frozen crusts in the freezer)!

  2. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary November 23, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    I have faith! You can do it! Have fun, and maybe you’ll even find that you start to like apple pie. 🙂

  3. Nitza19 November 24, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    One important trick: put a thick baking sheet in the oven while it preheats, and then when you put the pie pan in the oven, put it right on the cookie sheet. The extra heat from the cookie sheet will help the bottom pie crust cook through so you don’t get that soggy, slimy bottom crust thing.
    Also it’s best to use 2 different kinds of apples: one sweet (but they tend to melt down and lose their shape) and one tart (which will hold up better during the baking). It’ll balance out the flavors well but it’ll also keep you from having Collapsed Pie Top (TM).
    Best of luck 🙂

    • theemptykitchen November 24, 2010 at 8:29 am #

      that is definitely a great tip about the crust! i will be using that one!

Leave a Reply

