Kitchen Table Talk: I am now a cat lady

29 Nov

Confession #1: I am nosy.

I cannot help it. It is genetic. My mother is nosy. My grandmother is nosy. My great-grandmother was nosy. In my family, being nosy is not only an art form, it’s a way of life. I’ve even figured out a way to turn my nosiness into a paying job! Being nosy permeates all facets of my life, including, I’m ashamed to say, at the grocery store.

Confession #2: I look in other people’s shopping carts.

It’s true. When I’m grocery shopping, I stare into other people’s shopping carts. And G-d help the people who follow me around the store (you know those people–the ones you run into down every single aisle you shop). I even take stock of what they’re adding to their cart. I look at their food and I make up stories. That one must be having a party. That one must be baking a cake. That one has a lot of kids. I pass judgments–That one makes really good choices. That one eats an awful lot of ice cream. Wow, that one must have a lot of money!

I have to say that the people I’m most curious about are the ones that buying dozens of cans of cat food. While I know that they’re more than likely not buying the cans for their own consumption (contrary to what the guilt pushers at my Hebrew school tried to make us believe), I could never understand why they were buying so much cat food. How much do cats really eat? And why are they buying the cans at the supermarket? Why not the pet store? How many damn cats does this person have? It was something I never understood. Until I became one of them.

About 2 months ago, I adopted a feral cat. By adopted, I mean I built him a house, got him neutered and I feed him daily. I had never had a cat before. Neither had my husband. Figuring out how to feed this cat was hard! I had so many questions. Does he get wet food? Does he get dry food? Which is best for an outdoor cat? These were the questions that plagued me as I stood, dumbfounded, before the 800 varieties of cat food in my local supermarket.

So, I did what anyone would do. I turned to the complete strangers standing next to me and bombarded them with all my questions. Yes, in a fit of absolute ignorance and desperation, turned to the strangers standing next to me and, with the most pathetic face I could muster, seized the opportunity to play on their cat-owning knowledge. They were completely taken aback by my brazenness but, out of the goodness of their hearts (or pity), helped me to figure out what I should be feeding my cat.

And then I picked up 14 cans. I proudly put them in my cart and went about the rest of my shopping. When I was done picking out the human food, I went to the register and began to unload my groceries including the cat food. As the 14 cans moved down the conveyor belt, it struck me. I was now a cat lady! I had become one of those crazy people buying ridiculous amounts of cat food at the supermarket! I was now the person that someone else might look at and think “what on earth? How many cats does that woman have?” And you know what? I don’t care.

I’m not really sure what exactly is the point of my sharing this story. I do know that my nosiness is terrible.  For the record, I never actually voice my opinions. That’s not my place. But now, when I see someone buying 45 cans of cat food, I smile and nod with understanding. Because there’s no camaraderie like that of the cat lady.

Picture from flickr.com

Who knew cats were so demanding?

4 Responses to “Kitchen Table Talk: I am now a cat lady”

  1. april November 30, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    We are cat people now too. Bought in bulk at bjs. Still trying to figure out how much is enough. Hoping vet can help me. Today is their first appointment. Loved this post!

    • theemptykitchen November 30, 2010 at 8:34 am #

      that’s right, you are! congrats on your new additions!

      i’ve narrowed it down to one can of wet food a day, plus about a 1/3 cup of dry food. i love google!

  2. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary November 30, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    No cats for us at the moment, but I used to have an adorable calico named Fido. Fido was an indoor cat, and we fed him only dry food. It was a lot, though, huge bags bought at the pet store.

    Enjoy your new little one!

  3. Brandy December 4, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    We are pet People too. I buy my wet catfood in bulk at Walmart because its cheaper there then Petsmart. Im sure I get looks from people. I try to stock up on it so I dont have to buy so often. I do buy my dry food at Petsmart because its easier.

Leave a Reply

