Kitchen Table Talk: Fish does not belong in the workplace

8 Dec

I get that throughout the workday, people will eat. It’s inevitable. I may not always like what they eat. That’s OK. I deal with it. But I just have one request of my fellow coworkers…

Please, please, PLEASE do not cook, microwave or order in any sort of fish. It stinks. Horrbily. There are some of us who work near the kitchen, and as much as it may be tasty to you, I do not particularly enjoy having to spend my entire afternoon with the scent of your lunch stuck in my nose.

Also, please stop microwaving popcorn. I don’t know if the popcorn button is broken or if the box of popcorn bags is defective, but the popcorn. Always. Burns. If you haven’t noticed, microwaved popcorn smells almost as bad as fish.  And the smell lingers for days, no matter how hard you try to get rid of it. It is one smell that even Febreeze surrenders to.  So please stop doing it.

That is all.

From stuytownluxliving.com

Someone else agrees with me

4 Responses to “Kitchen Table Talk: Fish does not belong in the workplace”

  1. 100wordson December 8, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    For me, it was microwaved broccoli. I worked directly across from the kitchen,and I could handle the occassional fish, or the burned popcorn (most of the time) but the microwaved steamed broccoli always made me want to gag.

    • theemptykitchen December 8, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

      i think i would fall out of my chair if someone in my building actually ate broccoli.

  2. April December 9, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    I both vehemently agree with you and disagree with you. I hate fish, and don’t let Nico cook it in the house. He can grill it outside, but not in the house. This is why I hate Tuesdays at work though. Sure, we get catered lunches, but Tuesday is fish day and the entire building smells of it from about noon onwards. Ugh.

    But popcorn, well, some popcorn does smell bad, especially if it burns. But Pop Secret Homestyle Popcorn doesn’t use that yicky fake butter, but real butter, and it smells like heaven (as long as you don’t burn it). I’ve done much research on the proper cooking time and manage to not burn it most of the time. Love me my popcorn!! A little too much, actually…

    But yeah. Totally with you on the fish issue!

    • theemptykitchen December 9, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      if everyone in my building did as much research on popcorn, i would be thrilled! no more disgusting burned popcorn smell to poison my nose.

      don’t get me wrong. i love popcorn. popcorn that is cooked right smells amazing. burned popcorn, however, smells disgusting.

Leave a Reply

