Celebrating one year

30 Dec

Approximately one year ago, I launched The Empty Kitchen. It was originally born out of an idea to combine two of my favorite hobbies: writing and cooking. It was also born out the desire to make people more comfortable with the idea of cooking, especially if the budget is tight. But this blog has become much more than that.

It’s become a place where I can be my weird self. It’s become an outlet for my creative side. It’s become a forum for me to talk about my shopping habits, my family, my likes and dislikes. It’s become a springboard for me to learn from many other amateur cooks like The Pajama Chef and The Budget-Friendly Chef. Most of all, it’s just become fun.

I’m pleasantly surprised at how well my blog has been received. Sure, for some of the big time bloggers, my daily traffic is what those blogs get in 15 minutes but for me, I’m content. I’m happy that strangers (and friends and family) enjoy what I have to say. And that you enjoy it enough to keep coming back is enough for me to keep writing.

As 2011 approaches, I’ve been thinking about the direction I want to go with this blog. Quite frankly, I’m not sure. I have an experiment that is being planned. I have recipes to share. And I have stories to tell. But I’m not sure how I want to tie them all to an umbrella purpose.

All of the really good blogs that I read have one larger focus and the authors of those blogs are outstanding at sticking to their focus. However, I’m like the kid in right field who pays attention to the game just long enough–until a butterfly floats by and then I’m busy with the butterfly. I need someone to bring me back into the game and just focus.

So, I’m turning to you for help. As The Empty Kitchen progresses, what would you like to see emerge as an overall focus?

10 Responses to “Celebrating one year”

  1. DonnaLynn Lanning December 30, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Who says you have to stay under an umbrella? Do with it as you will, the kitchen is the hub of the home, so everything else ties in, too. Go with it!

    • theemptykitchen December 30, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      you make a good point! the kitchen is indeed the hub of the home…i definitely take this into consideration!

  2. Jen E December 30, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    I love reading all of your posts. Not having such a narrow focus makes it more like…I dunno…having coffee with a friend? As opposed to reading a magazine article.

    Anyway, I find all of them enjoyable. However, the Aldi and budget posts have been the most *useful*.

    Happy New Year!

    • theemptykitchen December 30, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

      thanks, jen! i appreciate your very kind feedback. that’s kind of the vibe that i was going for with this blog. not too magazine-y.

      i like the comparison to having coffee with a friend!

      happy new year to you as well!

  3. renxkyoko December 30, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    I hope you can find a dish for diabetics like my mother.

  4. Mrs. Q December 30, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    I just like reading. Thanks for a great year!

    • theemptykitchen December 30, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

      thank you so much, mrs. q!

      your blog is amazing and i am in continued awe of what you’re doing. i can’t wait to see what you do in 2011!

  5. Sarah January 5, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    aww thanks for the shout out. can’t wait to read more 🙂

    • theemptykitchen January 5, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      no problem! i love your recipes!

      how do you do those printable recipes? that’s such a great idea!

Leave a Reply

