Kitchen Table Talk: This song changed my life

26 Jan

Today I’m starting a new feature at The Empty Kitchen. As one of my readers pointed out a few weeks ago, the kitchen is the heart of the home. It’s not only where we share meals but it’s where we can sit around and talk about anything. This new feature, Kitchen Table Talk, is where I will talk about anything that’s on my mind, whether it’s food related, family related, current events related or just plain random.

Everyone has something different that motivates her or speaks to her or gets her through a hard or sad or difficult time. For some, it’s the Bible  or another type of  book. For others, it’s inspirational sayings or quotes. For me, it’s song lyrics.

There is nothing that speaks to my emotions and feelings more than song lyrics. I relate so many moments in my life to different songs, and I associate almost every phase of my life to music. It’s as if my life has a soundtrack that no one else knows about; it’s my little personal secret. But I’m going to share one of those secrets with you.

This Friday is my  last day at my current job. This is very welcomed and long overdue (more overdue than I care to admit). It took me quite awhile to get to the point where I even considered looking for a new job. I would talk to friends and family about making a change but I couldn’t quite bring myself to do it. Then, about 3 months ago, while driving to pick up my daughter from daycare, I heard the song “Maybe” by Sick Puppies on the radio. More than any other song I’d heard in a long, long time, this song spoke to me on levels that I cannot even begin to describe. It was as if everything I had been thinking and feeling was all rolled into one amazing song. And, as cheesy as it may sound, it inspired me to finally make the decision to move on from the toxic environment where I was spending 40 hours a week.

What’s even more incredible is that, when you listen to the lyrics the first few times, it sounds like a song about a breakup. But when I watched the video, I knew that this song was sent to me to change my life:

What inspires you?

2 Responses to “Kitchen Table Talk: This song changed my life”

  1. Tia January 27, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    Great song, and the post spoke to me. I too have songs that make up the “soundtrack” of my life. Nice to know there are others out there with that same mentality.

Leave a Reply

