Chili seasoning straight from the pantry

9 Feb

There is one night per week that is exempt from categorical menu planning. Why is this night different from all others? It is the night that my husband works until 10:30 pm and this is the night I let my daughter pick out what we’re going to eat. What does her sophisticated palate normally pick out? Chili.

She loves chili. I think it has something to do with the fact that she once helped make it and she gets to eat bread or chips along with it, but I’m not 100% sure about that. in an effort to stave off chili boredom, I never make it the same way twice. I alternate the vegetables and/or bean content each time and the toppings are usually different as well. The one thing that never changes, however, is the spice content. I use the same seasoning each and every time.

After realizing how expensive (and sodium laden) seasoning packets are, I found a recipe for chili seasoning made with just the spices in my pantry. I have found that this seasoning recipe is better than any of the packets (spicier, too!), and it’s a heck of a lot cheaper than buying a seasoning packet every week. I just wish I could remember where I found it!

                                  Chili Seasoning

  • 4 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 ½ tsp cumin
  • 1 ½ tsp garlic powder
  • ½ tsp cayenne pepper
One Response to “Chili seasoning straight from the pantry”

  1. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary March 16, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    yummm…. that sounds good! My kiddos really don’t like spicy food, so I make chili with just chili powder and salt for spices. I also use minced garlic and chopped onion for flavor.

    I wish my kids liked it more, I’d love to eat it more often. But maybe not every single week… 🙂

Leave a Reply

