Books, part 1

20 Feb

One of my favorite hobbies is reading. I am always in the middle of at least two books, with about 25 more on my “to read list”. However, I’ve been struggling lately with finding books to read. I’ve started a whole bunch of books only to abandon them before I even get to the halfway point. This is unusual for me. I typically don’t have a problem pushing my way through a book I don’t like, and, prior to recently, I’d only quit 2 books before I finished. I don’t know if I’m becoming pickier about my choices or if I’m just doing a poor job of picking books but it’s been a disappointing few months, bookwise.

This is not to say that all books I’ve read have been bad. I’ve read the complete Millenium Trilogy (Steig Larsson’s books), some of Dan Miller’s books (he’s a job coach), Ramit Sethi’s I Will Teach You To Be Rich (an example of a book I did not like but completed), and I’m currently plugging my way through Brady Udall’s The Lonely Polygamist, which is finally starting to get better. I’m also working my way through Julie Morgenstern’s Organizing from the Inside Out. I’m only on page 10 or so, but it’s pretty useful. But I’ve read more bad books than good. And I’m starting to get frustrated.

I do have some books in waiting: The Help by Kathryn Stockett, Corrections by Jonathan Franzen, The Complete Grimm’s Fairy Tales and Jodi Picoult’s new book (which comes out next month–yay!), Sing You Home.  To say I am apprehensive about these books is an understatement. I’m terrified that these, like so many others in previous months, are going to absolutely suck. I’ve heard good things about The Help and Corrections, and Jodi Picoult has never let me down but I’m still nervous. I don’t have a lot of time to waste on books that are bad.

So I turn to you, dear readers. Any suggestions for books that do not suck?

17 Responses to “Books, part 1”

  1. Sarah February 20, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    my book lists are here: http://www.worldcat.org/profiles/sekeil5/lists i have weird tastes but you can peruse them 🙂

    • theemptykitchen February 21, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      thanks for sharing, sarah! i got lots of ideas from your lists.

  2. jackie s. February 21, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    The help is hysterical, you will love it! Jump to this one next!

  3. melissasmeanderings February 21, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Here are my recent reads:

    http://melissasmeanderings.wordpress.com/2010-reads/

    http://melissasmeanderings.wordpress.com/2011-reads/

    I would recommend everything except The Namesake…

    • melissasmeanderings February 21, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      And btw…I really enjoyed the Millennium Trilogy…I watched the 1st two movies with subtitles as well…probably going to watch the 3rd this weekend. I wonder how different the American movies will be….

      • theemptykitchen February 21, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

        all 3 movies are in my netflix queue. i just need to find a day to watch them! i’m kind of nervous for the american version. i hope they don’t mess with the story too much.

    • theemptykitchen February 21, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      thanks for the recommendations! you are the only other person i know who has read the story of edgar sawtelle. i liked the story but found it very slow and insanely depressing. what did you think?

      also, i really like the way you document the books you read. i may have to incorporate something like that on my blog!

      • melissasmeanderings February 21, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

        I loved The Story of Edgar Sawtelle. One of my favorites…it really touched me in a way that most books don’t. I didn’t find it slow (although most people I spoke to about it did think it was very slow paced)however it was very sad…I bawled like a baby on more than one occasion while reading it!

        You should definitely post your reads…I love seeing what other people are into:)

    • redwagon February 23, 2011 at 9:43 am #

      aww I enjoyed The Namesake! I read it years ago though so I can’t really tell you why I liked it… but I remember I did!

  4. redwagon February 23, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    I enjoyed the Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris for a fun romp, always enjoy Janet Evanovich’s “One for the Money” series, for eye-opening reading “Ishmael” by Daniel Quinn is a favorite. Also Philippa Gregory for historical novels. I’ve been in kind of a lull myself lately, though. Nothing horrible, but nothing GREAT. I’ll let you know if I come across anything!

    • theemptykitchen February 23, 2011 at 10:36 am #

      isn’t sookie stackhouse vampire books? i have been actively avoiding vampire books/movies/tv shows. the other books sound interesting, though.

  5. 100wordson February 23, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Well, here are the books I’ve blogged about: http://100wordson.wordpress.com/?cat=409336

    It really depends on what you like. I read a lot of sci/fi fantasy, and your list of recent books didn’t seem to mesh up with that. Still, the two authors I still buy in hardback are Steven Brust and William Gibson. If you want to read Gibson, though, you need to start with his older stuff. I think his newer stuff would be really hard to get into if you didn’t already have an understanding of his writing style, and the pay off he provides.
    I absolutely loved Anathem by Neal Stephenson (also Snow Crash by him). Its true speculative fiction, so the first few hundred pages were a slow go, but then it went much faster (an ~800 page book in paperback).
    I also like Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files, and Lillith SaintCrow both for quick reading pulp.

    • 100wordson February 23, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      And I shouldn’t forget to mention one of my all time favorite books: The Color of Water by James McBride. Its an absolutely beautiful memoir.

    • theemptykitchen February 24, 2011 at 8:11 am #

      thanks for the suggestions. i am definitely not a sci-fi/fantasy kind of gal. i have heard of the color or water…i want to say that i read it but i’m not sure. it might have been on my lost list of what to read.

  6. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary March 16, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    So many books, so little time!

    In my household right now we are reading The Hunger Games and the other books in that trilogy. The books are written for “young adults” (which I think means “teenagers”) but we’ve all (including two adults) found them quite compelling.

    For non-fiction, I really enjoyed The Happiness Project which just came out in paperback. And my fiance and I both read The Outliers and can’t stop talking about it.

    • theemptykitchen March 16, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

      the happiness project is one of a handful of books i’ve actually bought over the last few years. i love nonfiction books like that! i’ve never heard of the outliers but i trust you so i’ll put it on my list!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. KTT: Books, part 2 « The Empty Kitchen - April 19, 2011

    […] weeks ago, I posted about my problem finding good books to read. I got some great recommendations and assembled quite a queue. I’m pleased to report that […]

Leave a Reply

