Kitchen Table Talk: A few things I’m sick of besides Charlie Sheen

9 Mar

Are you sick of Charlie Sheen? I am.

I used to like the guy. Major League is one of my all time favorite movies. But now…well, now I just think he’s an overexposed loon. I wish that every news outlet would stop putting him on the front page. Every. Single. Day. The coverage is what is stoking his lunatic fire. If we stop caring, then maybe he’ll go away and actually focusing on recovering. I’m not sure how soon that’ll happen because crazy sells. And right now, he is Captain Crazy.

Fortunately for me, I’m good at spreading my hatred annoyance around. And there are also plenty of other topics/people/items I’m tired of  besides Charlie Sheen:

  • Remaking/revamping everything good. Not to be limited to movies (yes Footloose, I’m talking to you), the abundance of bringing back toys, cartoons, TV shows, etc from the past has my panties in a bunch.  It’s as if all of the good ideas were exhausted circa 1990 and ever since, we’ve just been served the same recycled stuff. Recycling is good for the environment but it’s not so good in entertainment. If Hotdoggers and Skidz make a comeback, I’m retreating to a cave.

Nothing says elegance and class like a pair of Skidz. Except maybe Hammer Pants.

  • Turning every great book into a movie. This is a subset of #1. Ultimately, the movies is going to ruin the book. That’s just a given. There are a host of great books I’ve read that are movies. I refuse to see those movies. I learned my lesson after The General’s Daughter, Sleepers and The Virgin Suicides (just to name a few disappointments). Using the law of opposites, shouldn’t the bad books be made into good movies? Having said that, I will be seeing The Art of Racing in the Rain when it comes out. I don’t care that Patrick Dempsey is the main character (this is most likely due to the fact that I don’t view him as some good-looking doctor. I view him as the guy performing the African Anteater Ritual in Can’t Buy Me Love). See for yourself:
  • Nirvana. Not the religious tenet, the band. Don’t misunderstand me. I get it. I was a teenager when grunge was popular. Nirvana was influential and changed music, blah blah blah. But radio stations fail to realize that Nirvana recorded more than 4 songs (really! It’s true! Lithium, Rape Me, Smells Like Teen Spirit and their cover of Man Who Sold the World are not the only songs they recorded. I promise!) . And I really don’t want to hear those songs any more. Ever. This is not just limited to Nirvana. You can also substitute Guns N’ Roses (before Axl went batty), U2, Led Zeppelin and The Rolling Stones.
  • New Jersey. I’m not necessarily sick of the whole state.The state itself is actually quite useful as it links the state I currently live in to my home state.  I am, however, opposed to the obnoxious, overexposed reality stars that are coming out of New Jersey at an alarming rate. If I were from New Jersey, I would be pissed that when people think of my home state, they now think of Snooki, JWoww or one of the girls from Jerseylicious rather than Samuel Alito, Bruce Springsteen, Kevin Smith or the scores of others who are from New Jersey. Also, what’s the deal with the jughandles? Those things are a pain.
  • Sarah Palin. Why is this woman still relevant? How can we get her to stop speaking? Is it even possible?

That’s just a few of the things that I’m tired of. There’s a whole list more (just ask anyone who knows me. I can seriously go on for hours about this stuff, especially when I get going on a topic I’m really passionate about like the Mommy Wars). But mainly, I just have one question–why does Lady Gaga call her fans “Little Monsters”?

6 Responses to “Kitchen Table Talk: A few things I’m sick of besides Charlie Sheen”

  1. melissasmeanderings March 10, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    I can verify that those of us living in NJ are royally POed!

    • theemptykitchen March 10, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

      i can only imagine! i know a lot of people from new jersey and almost none of them are like that. it’s like saying those from west virginia are the same as that crazy family, the whites, instead of someone like morgan spurlock.

  2. Jen E March 12, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Amen, sister.

    I saw honest to god *stirrup pants* last week at the mall while trying to buy jeans. Not cool, fashion designers…not cool at all.

    Also, Forrest Gump was an amazing movie but the book was so terrible that I literally threw it at a wall rather than read one more word. I was about 2 chapters in.

    New Jersey means Bon Jovi, Bruce Springsteen and Jon Stewart to me. I wish I could go back to a time when I could legitimately say, “What’s a Snooki?” {sigh}

    • theemptykitchen March 14, 2011 at 7:23 am #

      i didn’t even know forrest gump was a book.

      stirrup pants?! i can’t handle that.

  3. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary March 16, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Fun post! I guess I like it when you get a bit snarky, LOL.

    I liked the movie The English Patient but really did not enjoy the book. And I loved The Princess Bride, both the movie and the book. But in general, I agree with you very much. I normally won’t even go to see a movie that is based on a book I loved. Not worth the frustration.

Leave a Reply

