Tortellini soup

16 Mar

When I got married almost 7 years ago, my sisters put together a cookbook for me as a wishing well gift for my bridal shower. The cookbook was a collection of recipes from friends and family and contained a wide array of recipes: sweet potato pie, potato latkes, banana bread, broccoli casserole, sausage bread, 3 recipes for chicken marsala (the one food I’m never allowed to make) and fudge, just to name a few. Admittedly, I’ve never tried most of the recipes. There’s no particular reason why I haven’t because they all sound excellent; I just haven’t.

Last week, though, I was looking for something to do with a package of cheese tortellini I had bought from Aldi. I wanted to do something more creative than just heat it up with sauce when I remembered that my cousin had put a recipe for tortellini soup in my cookbook! I grabbed the cookbook and started looking at the recipe. I thought, “If Lindsay can do this, then so can I!” and I went about my kitchen, grabbing the ingredients. Unfortunately, I didn’t have some of the required ingredients like fresh basil and I don’t use chicken stock, so I had to make some modifications. What came out was a wonderful tasting, filling soup that made enough food for dinner and 2 lunches.

Tortellini Soup (an Empty Kitchen original)

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2-1 onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped or diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced (or 1/2 tsp jarred minced garlic)
  • 1 14-oz can diced tomatoes, Italian flavored (or any variety that you prefer)
  • 3 14 oz cans vegetable stock (or chicken stock)
  • 1 7 or 8 oz package cheese tortellini (frozen or refrigerated)
  • Grated parmesan cheese, optional

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a pan. Sauté onions, garlic and peppers in oil until slightly softened, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add tomatoes and vegetable broth. Bring to boil.
  3. Add tortellini. Cook tortellini according to package directions.
  4. Sprinkle with cheese, if desired, right before serving.

That’s it. That’s the whole recipe. There are modifications you could make such as adding cooked meatballs, using varying flavors of tortellini or tomatoes, adjusting the level of garlic, or even adding some spinach!

I’m over the moon that I tried this recipe. It’s become a fast favorite. I think I’ll have to give some more recipes from my cookbook at try. Apparently my friends and family know what they’re doing!

7 Responses to “Tortellini soup”

  1. 100wordson March 16, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    This is very similar to the soup my husband made me on our first date, which we also served at our wedding, and still make. Bascially, we add italian sausage and more veggies- specifically carrots and zucchini.

    • theemptykitchen March 16, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

      i like the idea of putting carrots and zucchini in the soup. i’ll have to give that a try when i make it next.

  2. Midwesterner March 21, 2011 at 7:50 am #

    We add a bag of frozen mixed vegetables to the soup as the broth heats, and often add a tablespoon of Italian Seasoning herbs/spice.

  3. Mrs. C April 29, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    YUM! We just finished having this for dinner and we were not disappointed. When I served my daughter she said, “Mom this looks like something they serve in a restaurant!” Have I said how much I love my daughter? 😉 She did have two servings! I used chicken broth, chicken tortellini, and garlic, basil, & oregano diced tomatoes and stuck to the recipe, otherwise. Thanks for a new family favorite.

    • theemptykitchen April 30, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

      you are welcome. i just made some myself this week and, at the request of my daughter, added cannelini beans. it was surprisingly delicious.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tortellini and the rest of the Week « Not So Desperate Housewife - April 30, 2011

    […] I have been waiting for an opportunity to try this recipe:  https://theemptykitchen.wordpress.com/2011/03/16/tortellini-soup/  While you look up the recipe stay a while and check out The Empty Kitchen. You are sure to find […]

Leave a Reply

