Fantastic Product Friday: Magic Eraser

1 Apr

The Magic Eraser. Have you used this amazing product yet? If you have not, go out this weekend and pick one up. I promise you will not be disappointed.

I can’t remember exactly when the Magic Eraser entered my life but I’m sure it was a glorious day filled with rainbows and unicorns and confetti and cupcakes. I seriously have no idea what I used to do to remove stains from my walls, my floors, my ceiling (yes, the ceiling. There was an unfortunate incident with tomato sauce), my countertops, my bathtub…everything. This little spongelike eraser even removes nonwashable crayon! It is, next to my water and vinegar solution and my Seventh Generation dishwashing detergent, my favorite cleaning product that I have.

They’re inexpensive, too. I think it’s about $3 or $4 for a box of 4 erasers. Totally well worth it, too, because not only do they remove pretty much every imaginable stain, they last a while. And, although I pretty much stick to the original product, there are ones specific for the kitchen and the bathroom and there is an extra-strength version! There’s even a website for the Magic Eraser: http://www.mrclean.com/en_US/magic-eraser.do

I want to kiss Mr. Clean’s big, shiny bald head for distributing the Magic Eraser. Now, if he would just come out with a magic eraser for clothing stains, I’d be set!

Have you used the Magic Eraser? What do you think?

13 Responses to “Fantastic Product Friday: Magic Eraser”

  1. Candee Niemeier April 1, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    There is a “magic eraser” for clothes – it’s called Miss Oops. There was a demonstration by stylist Gretta on the February 21st episode of the Rachael Ray show. Her favorite part is that it leaves the material dry – you don’t have to walk around w/a wet mark on your clothing.

  2. melissasmeanderings April 1, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    I did buy one a few months ago and tried it in the shower of the new home I’d purchased…didn’t really make a dent. But maybe I should try it out in other areas…

    • theemptykitchen April 1, 2011 at 9:04 am #

      i’m surprised that it didn’t make a dent. maybe try the one that’s for bathrooms?

  3. Gramma April 1, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    I clean for 11 families, and if Magic Eraser didn’t exist, I couldn’t do it. There are clones out there, but they aren’t as tough and don’t last as long. Let’s say I have a deep and meaningful relationship with Mr. Clean!

    • theemptykitchen April 4, 2011 at 9:07 am #

      i can imagine with 11 families, you and mr. clean have gotten to know each other pretty well!

  4. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary April 4, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    My sister-in-law suggested I try it for some stains on our walls, and I’ve been a convert ever since!

    • theemptykitchen April 5, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

      your sister-in-law is a wise woman! i’m glad you’ve become a user…i guess that sounds kind of weird but you know what i mean…

  5. Tia April 11, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    I read this post. I then went out and purchased the original magic eraser. Initially for the walls in our bedrooms that looked like we walked on them with all scuff marks they had on them. With little effort, they came right off! Then I tackled the wall that my son’s changing table is against, which has all kinds of marks left on it, one cleaning and they were GONE. Lastly, I used it on the ceiling in my spare bathroom where a candle hadn’t been properly trimmed so it left a soot residue on the ceiling, came right off. Thank you for this post. I am now a Magic eraser addict.

    • theemptykitchen April 11, 2011 at 7:39 am #

      it just takes one time, tia! i’m so happy it worked for you!

  6. Mrs. C April 12, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I LOVE these things. I do have to use with caution because whenever I use them it makes me realize how dirty everything else is! For example, when one of the kids writes on the wall and the eraser is used to clean it off, I immediately realize how dirty the walls are!! So a quick crayon clean up leads to hours of wall cleaning. Sometimes I am perfectly happy in filthy ignorance 🙂
    -azmom

    • theemptykitchen April 12, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

      i’m so glad to have you as a neighbor in filthy ignorance land! i try to focus only on the spot that i’m cleaning because if i look at the larger picture, i’ll never have company. or a clean house.

  7. steph bonadio April 18, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    i was desperate once and tried a magic eraser on carpet…it worked. i love them.

Leave a Reply

