KTT: The little things

11 Apr

You know that song by Good Charlotte “The Little Things”? Last Friday, I had one of those days.

It was one of those days that leaves you thinking “what the hell just happened? Did I really just hear that? Did he really just say that? What is wrong with these people? Why did I leave the house?” It was so easy to just wallow in how miserable my day had been (to be fair, it was the last day in a week where I had spent three days in training learning about child abuse and neglect. Pictures were included). But then I remembered a post I had read on Money Saving Mom.

The author of that post is absolutely right. Sometimes you need to change your outlook to appreciate what you truly do have. So I started to think about what I do have. But since it’s easy to think about the big things, I tried to focus on the little things that were good in my day. Here’s what I came up with:

  • Frosting shots. These are perhaps, next to cannolis, the greatest dessert invention. Ever. Basically, it’s a small little cup (like what you put a Jell-O shot in) filled with cupcake frosting. As someone who has difficulty picking a cupcake flavor, this is a nice way to not have to choose. And they only cost $.75!

Small serving. Gigantic taste.

  • Payday. Yes, the awful day happened to be payday. Usually, I get upset that all my money is basically spent before payday is over (thank you, bills) but then I decided to think about how satisfying it is to replenish our envelopes and how glad I am that we’re able to budget enough to go out eat each week.
  • Prices that end in “0”. On this particular day, we went out to eat at a local, nonchain restaurant that makes 90% of its menu vegetarian-friendly, which means that I have almost an entire menu to choose from. As if that isn’t awesome enough, all of the prices end in 0. I love being able to put the cash on the table and not have to worry about coins. It makes things nice and neat and even.
  • Good TV. I know there are better activities than watching TV. I could read a book, go to the gym, play a board game…but sometimes, I just like to watch a good TV show. And fortunately, there are lots of good TV shows available lately. I DVR most of them so my husband and I can watch them together. On this particular Friday, we watched The Big Bang Theory and Breakout Kings (if you haven’t seen this show yet, watch it as soon as you can. I usually don’t recommend cop shows but I will recommend this one, and The Chicago Code, to pretty much anyone who will listen).

I’m fairly certain there were other small things in my day that made me forget about the horrible things that happen (like finding that I can play Pandora radio through our brand-new Blu-Ray player), but these are the ones that really cheered me up.

When you’re having a bad day, what are the little things that make you happy?

4 Responses to “KTT: The little things”

  1. 100wordson April 11, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    I have 2 pieces of poster board at work that are filled with pet pictures – mine and co-workers’. When I’m having a bad day, I turn around and stare at cuteness.
    At home, I have my actual doggies to cuddle with. Its a rare bad day that puppy kisses can’t make better.

    • theemptykitchen April 12, 2011 at 6:30 am #

      you are absolutely correct about puppy kisses! it has to be a really bad day for those not to make it better.

  2. Candace Elmore April 12, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    My two cats. I watch them play, chase each other, fight with each other, then snuggle and groom each other. They are the first thing I see when I pull up in the driveway after a bad day, and they make me forget the bad things that have happened.

    • theemptykitchen April 12, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      it is amazing what a cute little furry face can do, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

