Books, part 2

19 Apr

Several weeks ago, I posted about my problem finding good books to read. I got some great recommendations and assembled quite a queue. I’m pleased to report that since that post, the number of good books I’ve read has grown exponentially (thankfully). I am also extremely excited for the next few books I have in waiting. I will be sharing those with you, but first, I’ll discuss the books I did finish.

In my previous post, I said that I was in the middle of Brady Udall’s The Lonely Polygamist. I couldn’t finish it. I found it boring and way too difficult to get through. I have made the decision that the time I do have to read is too precious to waste on books I don’t like, so that one went right back to the library. Next came Kathryn Stockett’s The Help. Awesome, amazing, wonderful, easy to read, great story. I can not say enough good things about this book. In fact, I think everyone should read it.

After that, I read Susan Wilson’s One Good Dog. I picked this book because, ever since I read The Art of Racing in the Rain, I love books with dogs as main characters. I had never heard of this book, saw it on sale in Target, bought it, took it home and read it in a weekend. It’s a terrific, modern and relevant story paralleling the lives of a man and a stray pit bull–I’m beyond glad I read this book. Then was Jodi Picoult’s new book, Sing You Home. It was a book in true Jodi Picoult fashion and while the story was interesting, I felt that it was told at a rather frenetic pace.  It was not her best but certainly not her worst (that honor is reserved for The Tenth Circle). I am now in the middle of Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom. I’ll get back to you about it when I’m done.

So what’s next? Yesterday I went on a book buying/book reserving spree. A quick note about when I buy versus reserve. Whenever possible, I try to get books from the library. However, there are times when books I want to read are not in any library in my entire state (to be fair, I live in a small state). It is in those instances, and I want to really, really read a book, that I will buy a book. OK, having cleared that up, here’s what I reserved/bought yesterday:

  • Bossypants by Tina Fey
  • Room by Emma Donoghue
  • Still Alice by Lisa Genova
  • Gazelles, Baby Steps and 37 Other Things Dave Ramsey Taught Me About Debt by Jon Acuff
  • The Girl’s Guide to Homelessness by Brianna Karp (you can also follow her blog)
  • Stray Dogs, Saints and Saviors: Fighting for the Soul of America’s Toughest High School by Alexander Russo

I like to read a combination of fiction and nonfiction books. While this list is a little nonfiction heavy, it’s a nice balance to the fiction books that I’ve just finished.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think?

4 Responses to “Books, part 2”

  1. Melissa's Meanderings April 19, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    I haven’t read any of those but Room and The Art of Racing in the Rain are on my TBR list along with:

    1. The Art of the Commonplace: The Agrarian Essays of Wendell Berry – Wendell berry
    2. The Grimm Legacy – Polly Shulman
    3. Eldest – Christopher Paolini
    4. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
    5. Eating Animals – Jonathan Safran Foer

    (To name just a few.)

    Also don’t forget to check out craigslist, ebay, amazon, freecycle and paperbackswap for free or cheap second hand books. That’s what I do when my library doesn’t have something.

  2. theemptykitchen April 19, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    thanks, melissa! the art of racing in the rain is probably one of the best best books i have ever read. i’m jealous that you’re getting to read it for the first time.

    amazon’s used books is where i get the majority of my books when i do buy them. i never thought to check out ebay.

  3. Lanie April 21, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    I read Room and absolutely could not put it down! It was one of the best books I have read in a long time. My mom read Still Alice and told me that I have to read it soon. She loved it.

Leave a Reply

