April book report

5 May

Last month, I finished 2 books and still followed my attempt to read one fiction and one nonfiction book per month–Brianna Karp’s The Girl’s Guide to Homelessness and Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom. They are two books that I am so glad to have read.

Freedom was a phenomenal story, amazingly written and engaging and I totally see Hollywood trying to make a crappy movie based off of this excellent novel. I picked the book because I loved that the author turned down an interview with Oprah a few years ago after his book, The Corrections, was selected as an Oprah’s Book Club Book. However, it took forever to get through. The writing style is way more sophisticated than I’m used to and sometimes, it just became excruciatingly slow to read. But I pushed through it. I get why critics (and Oprah) love Jonathan Franzen as a writer. If you are looking for something to read that will entertain you while increasing your vocabulary at the same time, I totally recommend this book.

On the other hand, I read The Girl’s Guide to Homelessness in 48 hours. I was so excited when it came in the mail that I actually preempted my completing of Freedom so I could start it. And I was not disappointed. I could not put this book down. I spent every spare moment reading this book. What Brianna has experienced in her life is mind-boggling; just one of the experiences could traumatize and incapacitate a person for life. Yet her determination is inspiring and it makes you want to keep rooting for her continued success. She’s a terrific writer–funny, serious, self-deprecating, and eye-opening all at once.  She really makes you think about homelessness. I often wonder if I would have half the resolve and resourcefulness that she demonstrated. This book should be on everyone’s must read list, especially if you like memoirs.

Coming up in May…Gazelles, Baby Steps and 37 Other Things Dave Ramsey Taught Me About Debt and Still Alice.  I really need to put together an aggregate list of all the books I’ve read so far in 2011.

3 Responses to “April book report”

  1. Mrs. C May 16, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    Okay so after your review of “The Girls Guide to Homelessness” It is going on my must read list. I have never even heard of it, which makes me love you more. I would love to write a memoir one day. You know right after I get the laundry done.

    • theemptykitchen May 16, 2011 at 11:01 am #

      i think your memoir would be absolutely amazing! your life story never ceases to amaze me. i’d read it! hell, i’ll even help you write it…in between load of laundry, of course!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On My Nightstand: Update and Reviews « Another Housewife - July 5, 2011

    […] Guide to Homelessness by Brianna Karp. The Empty Kitchen gave a very captivating review in her post April Book Report. I ditto her review. It took me three days to finish this book only because our power went off and […]

Leave a Reply

