Fantastic Product Friday: Baking soda

13 May

I love products that are inexpensive, environmentally friendly, nontoxic,  odorless (unless they’re supposed to have a smell, like candles)and have multiple functions. That’s why today’s fantastic product is…baking soda!

There are so many ways to use baking soda:

  • In baked goods
  • Cleaning agent (my tubs are never so clean as when they are scrubbed with a paste of baking soda)
  • Odor absorber
  • Hygiene product

As I am just starting to use baking soda regularly, these are just the uses I know of. For more detailed examples, I found these:

For the record, I do find it odd that baking soda serves all these purposes and is still acceptable for food. But for about $0.50 per box, I’m not going to complain!

6 Responses to “Fantastic Product Friday: Baking soda”

  1. Robyn Berman May 13, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    But do any of them include glitter??? Maybe that’s my secret 🙂

  2. theemptykitchen May 13, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    if baking soda is an adherent for glitter, then i am pissed at all the money i’ve wasted on glue!

  3. 100wordson May 19, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Thanks to this post, I decided to try cleaning my tub and tile with a baking soda paste (I am really careful about my cleaning ingredients because of the dogs and hubby’s sinus issues). It worked really well. Didn’t get rid of the all the mildew stains on the grout, but I can use Simple Green for that. It worked as well as Comet or Bratender’s Friend on the basin and tiles.
    Yay for inexpensive and non-toxic!

    • theemptykitchen May 20, 2011 at 5:53 am #

      i’m glad that it worked for you! it’s definitely not that great at getting out the hardcore mildew and stains but it’s really good for the normal, every day type stuff.

  4. Mrs. Money May 22, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    I love baking soda too! It is amazing that it works so well for such a small price!

    • theemptykitchen May 23, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

      i know. it’s definitely a staple in my cleaning arsenal!

Leave a Reply

