Mexican stuffed shells

16 May

It’s been a while since I posted some recipes. I think it’s mainly due to the fact that I hadn’t made any recipes worth posting. But over the last few weeks, I’ve tried some new ones out and I feel obligated to share. The first one up is Mexican Stuffed Shells.

Stuffed shells are my signature dish. So when I saw my dear friend Mrs. C’s recipe for Mexican Stuffed Shells, my curiosity was piqued (also, check out her blog, Another Housewife. The cooking that this woman can do on a very strict budget is incredible).  I love Mexican food and I love stuffed shells. How could anything go wrong with that combination?

Nothing did go wrong. This recipe was amazing! I made some changes but the changes weren’t so severe that they altered the quality or taste of the recipe at all. Here’s what I did:

Mexican Stuffed Shells (adapted from Mrs. C at Another Housewife)

Ingredients:

  • 1 box jumbo shells
  • 2 c shredded hot pepper cheese
  • 1 package Morningstar Farms soy burger crumbles
  • 1 4 oz can diced chiles
  • 1 bottle Pace picante sauce (medium hotness)
  • 1 c jarred tomato sauce (traditional flavor) or 1 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • ½ c water

Directions:

  1. Cook shells according to package directions.
  2. While shells are boiling, cook soy burger crumbles and chiles. When heated through, add 1 c shredded cheese. Mix thoroughly until cheese is melted.
  3. Combine picante sauce, tomato sauce and water in large bowl. Set ¼ c of the sauce aside. When faux meat mixture is fully cooked, add to remaining sauce.
  4. Pour the ¼ c reserved sauce in the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan.
  5. Stuff the fully cooked, rinsed and drained shells with the faux meat mixture, putting each stuffed shell in the 9 x 13 pan.
  6. Top shells with remaining 1 c shredded cheese.
  7. Bake, uncovered, at 350 for 30-35 minutes.

This makes approximately 5 servings of 5 shells. For those following Weight Watchers, the above recipe (based on my calculations) is 13 points per serving.

This is what it looked like, served with a side of black bean, corn, tomato and mango salad (this is my own creation. I’ll post the recipe later in the week). I apologize for the poor photo quality; I took the picture with my cell phone:

My whole family loved this recipe. My daughter devoured 4 of the shells. My husband and I each brought the leftovers for lunch today. This version of Mexican Stuffed Shells has officially made it into my recipe binder. Kudos to you, Mrs. C! Another reason you absolutely rock!

2 Responses to “Mexican stuffed shells”

  1. Mrs. C May 16, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Awe thank you so much. So happy you enjoyed them. My kids always devour these too. I bet this mixture would make a delicious stuffed bell pepper. Just a thought!

    • theemptykitchen May 16, 2011 at 11:03 am #

      you know, it probably would be good as a stuffed pepper mixture, but with a sweeter pepper like red rather than green. i may have to give it a shot…unless you want to first 🙂

Leave a Reply

