Archive | 7:35 am

Recipe blitz recipe #2: Banana blueberry muffins

8 Jun

There are times that I find myself with a whole bunch of overripe bananas. They’re too ripe to eat and too ripe to freeze but I don’t want to throw them out. To deal with this problems, I’ve collected some recipes that use these bananas. One is a chocolate chip banana bread; the other is banana blueberry muffins.

While I love both recipes, the muffins are a little more practical for daily use. Plus, they last longer (the banana breads never lasts more than 48 hours in my house). I’m not really sure where I got this recipe so I apologize to the creator for not being able to give proper credit.

Banana Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed banana (about 4 mashed bananas, depending on size)
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup blueberries

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Line a muffin tin with liners or spray with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Combine the first 5 ingredients in a bowl.
  3. Combine the remaining ingredients in a separate bowl.
  4. Pour dry ingredients into banana mixture. Mix thoroughly. There might still be some lumps from the banana. This is OK.
  5. Fill each muffin cup approximately 1/2 way.
  6. Bake for 16 minutes.

These muffins are delicious! They make a quick breakfast or a nice snack, especially when paired with a glass of almond milk. And as far as muffins go, they’re pretty healthy. Most of the ingredients are ones that I have on hand so the cost for the muffins is really just the cost of the blueberries, which varies according to season. In the summer, each muffin would cost around $.40. So not only are they healthier than the muffins from  Dunkin Donuts, they’re way cheaper, too!

What do you do with overripe bananas?