The Empty Kitchen returns with a poem

14 Nov

After a long, unexpected and very necessary hiatus, The Empty Kitchen has returned! I will, at some point, explain why I have been gone for almost 2 months but for now, please enjoy my return with a short poem I wrote about my most favorite kitchen appliance, my Kitchen Aid stand-up mixer:

Love.

Stand-up mixer, I love you so

You help me make cake, bread, and cookie dough.

Although you are yellow, dirty and fairly old,

You are one item that will never be sold.

Your multiple attachments and your giant, shiny silver bowl,

To use you as much as possible is a goal.

Stand-up mixer, I love you , you see.

I love you even more because you were free.

 

 

 

8 Responses to “The Empty Kitchen returns with a poem”

  1. Sarah November 14, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    haha love it! i should read it to my kitchenaid. it’s old and ugly and stained but it was free! and it works 🙂

    • theemptykitchen November 15, 2010 at 9:03 am #

      it works and it was free…doesn’t get much better than that!

  2. April November 15, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    We just got a stand mixer (an orange one) and we love it already! Ours, sadly, was not free, but was bought with gift money so it’s almost free!

    • theemptykitchen November 15, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      orange? is it part of the rachael ray collection? i know her stuff is usually orange.

      • April November 16, 2010 at 8:56 am #

        I don’t think so. It’s just a tangerine mixer from Bed Bath and Beyond! It’s the usual kitchenaid. they come in all sorts of pretty colors!

  3. Tia November 15, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    Yay! You’re back! I missed your posts.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fantastic product Friday « The Empty Kitchen - March 11, 2011

    […] to my KitchenAid mixer, these are my favorite product that I own. Many of my clothes (and my daughter’s clothes and […]

Leave a comment