It’s Pi(e) Day!

14 Mar

Well, here it is. It’s Pi day. I try not to focus on the math aspect of the day because I really don’t like math. So for me, it’s Pie Day!

Admittedly, I’m not a huge pie fan. I think it’s because you typically don’t see buttercream frosting on pie. Don’t get me wrong. Pie is acceptable…as long as it’s filled with chocolate or peanut butter or pudding or a cookie. Actually, that last one is my favorite. And fortunately for me, the chefs at Nestlé have created a Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie.

This is perhaps not only the best pie I have ever eaten, it’s also the easiest pie I’ve ever made. A simple combination of butter, chocolate chips, sugar, eggs and flour makes it simple for even the most challenged baker. When I bring this to a pot luck, I never come home with any (I should learn to make two).

Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie (from the package of Nestlé Tollhouse chocolate chips)

Ingredients:

  • 1 unbaked 9-inch deep-dish pie shell (if using frozen pie shell, use deep-dish style thawed completely. Bake on baking sheet; increase baking time slightly)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped nuts (optional)
  • sweetened whipped cream or ice cream (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°
  2. Beat eggs in large mixer bowl on high speed until foamy. Beat in flour, granulated sugar and brown sugar. Beat in butter. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts (if using). Spoon into pie shell.
  3. Bake for 55-60 minutes or until knife inserted halfway between outside edge and center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack. Serve warm.

When it’s finished, it should look something like this:

I usually cook it for 55 minutes. It keeps the pie a little softer rather than crispy, which is how I like my cookies as well.  Here’s the printable version: Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

What’s your favorite pie recipe?

13 Responses to “It’s Pi(e) Day!”

  1. Candee Niemeier March 15, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    I don’t have a favorite pie recipe – I just have favorite pies … the ones my grandmother makes. But seeing that your post in on chocolate chip cookie pie – I’m wondering … have you ever had Derby Pie?

    • theemptykitchen March 15, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      what is derby pie? my mind is conjuring up all kinds of images…

      • Candee Niemeier March 15, 2011 at 11:27 am #

        It’s a chocolate nut pie that can only be made by a small, locally owned kitchen to be Official Derby Pie. Check out this website for details – http://www.atasteofkentucky.com

  2. melissasmeanderings March 15, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    That looks great! I don’t know if I have a favorite…but I bet you’d like the recipe I have for Coffee Toffee Pie.

    • theemptykitchen March 15, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      i’m willing to give it a shot. i don’t particularly enjoy anything coffee flavored but if it’s a mild taste, then it should be ok.

  3. 100wordson March 15, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    I’m totally making two of these this week, thanks to this post. I’m making one with mint and dark chocolate chips to take to a pot luck at work, and one with white chocolate chips for our St Patty’s day dinner

    • theemptykitchen March 16, 2011 at 7:17 am #

      i like the idea of replacing the semi-sweet chips with mint and dark chocolate. i think i’m going to do that the next time i make this!

      • 100wordson March 17, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

        It came out wonderfully. I will warn that the mint chips really kind of take over the whole thing. They’re pungent enough that every bite tastes a little like mint.
        I cooked two at the same time for 55 minutes. I loved how light and fluffy the batter was. (I did use butter flavored vegetable shortening instead of butter.)
        Even not being served warm, I love how soft the pie is, making it really easy to eat, even with my braces and bite plate.
        I put the mint chocolate chip one in an oreo cookie pie crust (yay for more chocolate) and the white chocolate chip one in a graham cracker crust.

      • theemptykitchen March 18, 2011 at 7:18 am #

        i’m so happy that this recipe worked for you! i like the idea of the mint and the oreo. hmm, i think i have a project for this weekend!

  4. Barb @ 1 Sentence Diary March 16, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    Hmm… I normally don’t like chocolate chip cookie-like items, unless they are chewy chocolate chip cookies. Usually these kids of things are too dry for my taste. But if you say it’s worth a try, I might give it a go…

    • theemptykitchen March 16, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

      if you cook the pie at the lower end of the time, like 55 minutes, the pie comes out a lot softer and chewier. i’m not a fan of crispy cookies either. if i want crisp, i’ll eat a chip!

  5. Sarah March 16, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    i love that this has a crust too! cookies + pie =incredible! 🙂

Leave a comment